Do I have a dodgy putter?

ScoopUK

Medal Winner
Visit site
Hi,

As some of you may know I am new to golf and here. After flirting with a set of Nike Vapor Fly irons and random other stuff I collected I decided to get rid of them (didn't like the feel/weight of them) and bought a set of Wilson Prostaff HDX clubs to keep me going for a good while.

I still have my old putter which is some random all metal mallet type putter from 20+ years ago, no resins, plastics or anything else. I get on surprisingly well with it, particularly for judging pace. It's just nice and predictable, if nothing special.

The new Wilson putter I got I thought would be great but I found its response really muted. For the weight of the club the ball hardly goes anywhere and makes a rather dull thud sound which I don't like. Sometimes they go okay but generally it feels like doesn't go as far as I'd expect.

Playing around with the club I notice it makes that thud like dull sound only in one spot. Now I'm wondering if maybe the resin/plastic material on the face has separated from the metal.

Here is a video. Sorry for the vertical filming but hard to hold a club, film and hit it with my knuckle with only 2 hands! :D

[video=youtube_share;--aveX5U0d0]https://youtu.be/--aveX5U0d0[/video]

Should I seek to get this replaced or is that some 'clever' technology?

Cheers

ScoopUK

Medal Winner
Visit site
I didn't pay for faulty if that's what it is. I expect it to work for it's intended purpose. Do you reckon that is by design or a fault?

DCB

Visit site
From the video clip I'd say It's not faulty, it's just a very basic putter out of a boxed set. Designed for beginners/new starters to the game.

ScoopUK

Medal Winner
Visit site
From the video clip I'd say It's not faulty, it's just a very basic putter out of a boxed set. Designed for beginners/new starters to the game.