Disqualification

Will depend on your conditions of the competition

Can someone who didn’t play in the 1st play in the second round ?


Are they treated as two seperate comps and then combined to make another comp
 
Will depend on your conditions of the competition

Can someone who didn’t play in the 1st play in the second round ?


Are they treated as two seperate comps and then combined to make another comp
Thanks for your reply, much appreciated. The competition in question is a two round, stroke play, making one single competition. The player in question was disqualified after round one and is being permitted to compete in the second round. The issue is not in being allowed to play on the day but compete as part of the competition. I welcome any advice.
 
Thanks for your reply, much appreciated. The competition in question is a two round, stroke play, making one single competition. The player in question was disqualified after round one and is being permitted to compete in the second round. The issue is not in being allowed to play on the day but compete as part of the competition. I welcome any advice.

If it’s just one competition and two rounds then the player who has been DQ’d shouldn’t then be able to play in the second round - he is ineligible for any prize - but it will come down to the details in the comp rules
 
If it’s just one competition and two rounds then the player who has been DQ’d shouldn’t then be able to play in the second round - he is ineligible for any prize - but it will come down to the details in the comp rules
Thank you Arthur Wedge helpful and appreciated.
 
Why does the OP think the person (the OP maybe?) should be allowed to play in the 2nd round? Disqualified means disqualified from the competition, not part of it. What are the circumstances of the DQ?
 
We have two day comps.
If you don’t play in the first you can play in the second.
We do it as two minor comps with winners on the day.
But the overall winner over 36 holes is the winner.

So if DQ from first day he could play at ours win the second day prize but not the overall prize for two day.!

TOC will need to be looked at your club.
 
We have two day comps.
If you don’t play in the first you can play in the second.
We do it as two minor comps with winners on the day.
But the overall winner over 36 holes is the winner.

So if DQ from first day he could play at ours win the second day prize but not the overall prize for two day.!

TOC will need to be looked at your club.
Thank you
 
We have two day comps.
If you don’t play in the first you can play in the second.
We do it as two minor comps with winners on the day.
But the overall winner over 36 holes is the winner.

So if DQ from first day he could play at ours win the second day prize but not the overall prize for two day.!

TOC will need to be looked at your club.
Thank you
 
We have two day comps.
If you don’t play in the first you can play in the second.
We do it as two minor comps with winners on the day.
But the overall winner over 36 holes is the winner.

So if DQ from first day he could play at ours win the second day prize but not the overall prize for two day.!

TOC will need to be looked at your club.
That's not the same thing as a 36 hole competition.
 
I see nothing explicity in the RoG preventing a player who has been disqualified from the 1st round of a multi-round compeietion from competeting in any subsequent round. Clearly they cannot win a prize awarded to players over the 2 rounds but again see no reason why they may not win a prize issued for good play in only the second round. Many here saying they can't play, but no one has quoted a rule number.

It seems to me that given that the rules stipulate a round of golf is a maximum of 18 holes that any DQ only applies to the round and not any subsequent round in the same competition. That is assuming that the Terms of Competition don't cover the situation.
 
I see nothing explicity in the RoG preventing a player who has been disqualified from the 1st round of a multi-round compeietion from competeting in any subsequent round. Clearly they cannot win a prize awarded to players over the 2 rounds but again see no reason why they may not win a prize issued for good play in only the second round. Many here saying they can't play, but no one has quoted a rule number.

It seems to me that given that the rules stipulate a round of golf is a maximum of 18 holes that any DQ only applies to the round and not any subsequent round in the same competition. That is assuming that the Terms of Competition don't cover the situation.
Thank you doublebogey
 
There may be evidence to show that the DQ reason was deliberate and not an error, is there any opinion on this? As in how would your club handle this?
 
Top