Slab
Occasional Tour Caddy
What does the reserved status mean and what is the impact to the RoG or decision while it is 'reserved'?
This is/was the decision about knocking leaves off a branch etc which used to read:
Decision 13-2/22
Q. A player's ball lies near a tree or bush. The player takes a practice swing near his ball and knocks down leaves in the area of his intended swing. Is this a breach of Rule 13-2?
A. The answer depends on whether the area of the intended swing is improved. In some cases, the knocking down of a number of leaves would not improve the area of the intended swing as the player still has to swing through a number of remaining leaves when making his stroke. In such circumstances, there would be no breach of the Rules. In other cases, the knocking down of one leaf might improve the area of the intended swing, in which case there would be a breach of Rule 13-2.
If a player has improved the area of his intended swing by knocking down a leaf or a number of leaves, he cannot avoid penalty under Rule 13-2 by subsequently changing the area of his swing when he actually makes the stroke
Currently both R&A and USGA sites have the decision missing of any text and just a 'reserved' so I'm curious to find out what it means and what impact it has on any ruling that needs to be applied while it has this status?
This is/was the decision about knocking leaves off a branch etc which used to read:
Decision 13-2/22
Q. A player's ball lies near a tree or bush. The player takes a practice swing near his ball and knocks down leaves in the area of his intended swing. Is this a breach of Rule 13-2?
A. The answer depends on whether the area of the intended swing is improved. In some cases, the knocking down of a number of leaves would not improve the area of the intended swing as the player still has to swing through a number of remaining leaves when making his stroke. In such circumstances, there would be no breach of the Rules. In other cases, the knocking down of one leaf might improve the area of the intended swing, in which case there would be a breach of Rule 13-2.
If a player has improved the area of his intended swing by knocking down a leaf or a number of leaves, he cannot avoid penalty under Rule 13-2 by subsequently changing the area of his swing when he actually makes the stroke
Currently both R&A and USGA sites have the decision missing of any text and just a 'reserved' so I'm curious to find out what it means and what impact it has on any ruling that needs to be applied while it has this status?