Custom fitted --- properly --- for the 1st time ever

moogie

Tour Winner
Visit site
Hi All,
Just thought Id write of my Day Out yesterday 7-6-12 when I booked a Custom Fit session at Craigmillar Park GC with Scott Gourlay

Yes, I know its Edinburgh, and Im in Newcastle upon Tyne, but there just Simply is NOT anybody in my area offering such a service.

Ive been playing golf for approx 11 years / seasons now, and have owned numerous sets of irons, and countless other bits of Kit in that time ( prob far TOO many .... )
BUT , Ive NEVER been what Id call PROPERLY Custom Fit before

I have had the usual, hit the strike board, lie angle scenario, then asked, Regular or Stiff.....
Nothing much more comprehensive than that.

Then approx 5 years ago, I had to switch to Graphites in my irons, due to golf/tennis elbow type pain/problems, which whilst playing steel, severely restricted my ability to play or practice as much as Id have wanted.
So I basically bought some irons I liked, found a clubfitter to pull out the shafts, and had them refitted with a Good Quality set of Graphites -- Grafalloy Blue iron shafts, then had the lies adjusted, my choice of irons, my choice of shafts, just ''tinkering'' really, but it worked.
I then used those irons for nearly 4 seasons before upgrading to my current Callaway FT irons, again, standard off the shelf Graphites, lies adjusted.

Anyway, Im at the stage with current kit where Im thinking, really like my Irons, but are these shafts 'for me'.....??......or too soft, too spinny, launching too high.....??......and can a GOOD club fitter find something better suited for me.....??
BUT I also had a little 'stash' of ££££ put aside that Id promised myself a Possible NEW set of irons this year:D

Due to the fact I need Graphites, there is VERY VERY Little choice for me, if looking at Mainstream golf Manufacturers.........:angry:
Mostly, just ONE Graphite offering..........reg / stiff / x - stiff