Course vs the Range

thebigreason

Visit site
A bit of a strange one, well it is for me anyway.

I have been hitting scores of around 105-120 on the course for around a year and wanted to improve therefore booked some lessons. I have now had 4 of 6 lessons and my game is improving on the course (where I have recently shot 98, 94 and 93) but my game off course (at the range or in the lesson studio) is very poor, in fact I would go so far as to say its got worse.

I have noticed that I am drawing massively and my launch angle is extremely low when having a lesson or at the range.

Does anyone have any pointers please? Be nice, I am fairly new to the game.

Oh and whilst I am here, don't get me started on the driver, cannot hit it for the life of me.

Neilds

Assistant Pro
Visit site
Surely you should be asking your pro when you are having a lesson? Or he should notice what you are doing wrong and correct it?

thebigreason

Visit site
Surely you should be asking your pro when you are having a lesson? Or he should notice what you are doing wrong and correct it?
great point. So my lessons with the pro are in his studio, hence he see's my "faults" therefore we try to work on them. I take the pointers to the course and I am improving. My problem is that when I return to the next lesson (in the studio) or the range, the faults re-appear hence we try and work on them again. As I type this maybe I should ask my pro for a lesson on the course.

louise_a

Money List Winner
Visit site
great point. So my lessons with the pro are in his studio, hence he see's my "faults" therefore we try to work on them. I take the pointers to the course and I am improving. My problem is that when I return to the next lesson (in the studio) or the range, the faults re-appear hence we try and work on them again. As I type this maybe I should ask my pro for a lesson on the course.

Yes an on course lesson can be beneficial

IanM

Journeyman Pro
www.newportgolfclub.org.uk