Cleaning Ball

6Aces

Hacker
Joined
Feb 13, 2015
Messages
27
Visit site
If I pick up my ball in the general area and clean it, without first marking it, I am penalized 1 stroke. 14.1c

It is my understanding that if my ball is lying in the general area with a piece of grass or a leaf adhering to it, if I reach down and remove the grass or leaf, without moving the ball, I incur the general penalty.
1. Is this true?
2. If it is, it makes no sense to me.
 
If something is adhering to the ball then you are going to have to touch the ball to remove it without moving the ball - 9.4b applies, 9.4b/1 confirms. But it's only a 1 stroke penalty ie it's consistent.
If something is resting on the ball, or otherwise touching it, you take your chances in removing the LI without moving the ball.
 
I think you are possibly confusing a few things?

You can only lift your ball in certain circumstances. If you lift it when not entitled to, you will get the general penalty under 9.4b

If you are entitled to lift a ball, you may or may not be required to mark it. If you are required to mark it, and don't, you will get a 1 stroke penalty. (14.1a)

You are generally able to clean a ball when its lifted, but there are cases when you can't. If you clean it when not entitled to, you will get a 1 stroke penalty - which is 14.1c (which only relates to cleaning when you shouldn't - not to do with marking).

Touching your ball to remove adhering grass, leaves or stuff would be a breach of 9.4b and gets the general penalty

To me, the difference is that the the marking & cleaning penalties are because you didn't follow a laid out procedure - the lifting/touching penalties are more stringent, because of a breach of a fundamental tenet of golf - ie you (generally) leave your ball alone & just play it as it lies
 
I think you are possibly confusing a few things?

You can only lift your ball in certain circumstances. If you lift it when not entitled to, you will get the general penalty under 9.4b
Forgive my being possibly dense, but 9.4b states “If the player lifts or deliberately touches his or her ball at rest or causes it to move, the player gets ONE PENALTY STROKE.” How does the general penalty apply?
 
Forgive my being possibly dense, but 9.4b states “If the player lifts or deliberately touches his or her ball at rest or causes it to move, the player gets ONE PENALTY STROKE.” How does the general penalty apply?
Through idiocy :). I read the rule wrongly. (I misread the bit at the bottom about penalties about "related" breaches)
 
Forgive my being possibly dense, but 9.4b states “If the player lifts or deliberately touches his or her ball at rest or causes it to move, the player gets ONE PENALTY STROKE.” How does the general penalty apply?

So if I touch only the piece of grass or twig or whatever without touching or moving the ball then there is no penalty?
 
If the grass or leaf is sticking to the ball, then it is not a loose impediment and you are not entitled to remove it - so there would be a penalty for removing it.

If it is not stuck to the ball, then you can remove it - provided, as you say, you don't touch the ball in doing so.
 
If the grass or leaf is sticking to the ball, then it is not a loose impediment and you are not entitled to remove it - so there would be a penalty for removing it.

If it is not stuck to the ball, then you can remove it - provided, as you say, you don't touch the ball in doing so.

Thanks
 
Top