Changing Driver After Nine

HomerJSimpson

Hall of Famer
Banned
Joined
Aug 6, 2007
Messages
74,579
Location
Bracknell - Berkshire
Visit site
Played with a guy in the medal today. Was having a horror with a driver he'd borrowed off a mate. The walk from the 9th green to the 10th green passes the locker room and he dived in and swapped drivers. The first one wasn't damaged he was just struggling to keep it in the same time zone. The other player wasn't sure he could substitute a club halfway round, especially one undamaged.

Regretably I couldn't find my rule book (need to put another one in) but I was of the opinion that providing he didn't have more than 14 and it didn't cause an unnecessary delay there wasn't a problem. He was way out of contention so in the scheme of things it doesn't matter. I had to shoot straight off and so he was going to ask the question but I wondered what the answer was as it's been bugging me
 
If he already had 14 in the bag at the start of the round and there was no damage he can't change.

If he had less than 14 clubs in the bag and added he driver mid way through the round then that would be ok as long as he didn't unduly delay play.

Rule 4-4 said:
a. Selection and Addition of Clubs
The player must not start a stipulated round with more than fourteen clubs. He is limited to the clubs thus selected for that round, except that if he started with fewer than fourteen clubs, he may add any number, provided his total number does not exceed fourteen.
The addition of a club or clubs must not unduly delay play (Rule 6-7) and the player must not add or borrow any club selected for play by any other person playing on the course or by assembling components carried by or for the player during the stipulated round.
 
i was under the impression you could only change if there was damage ( not caused by slaming the club etc )

And you could only add if you had less than 14 clubs
 
Couldn't he claim that it was faulty if it wasn't going straight? :lol:

Seriously, a mate of mine worked in a golf shop and a guy brought back a 3 wood demanding a refund as "all the shots go to the right". You couldn't make it up!
 
He only had 13 clubs when he started so if he swapped I assume he was meant to keep the other club in the bag then and just go up to 14? If he'd taken the first driver out I assume he has then broken the rule and technically should be DQ'd but had he carried two drivers for the second nine he'd have been fine?
 
He only had 13 clubs when he started so if he swapped I assume he was meant to keep the other club in the bag then and just go up to 14? If he'd taken the first driver out I assume he has then broken the rule and technically should be DQ'd but had he carried two drivers for the second nine he'd have been fine?

No because he started below 14 so could just add a club - he could take out any club he wishes. Only if he had 14 to start
 
No need to keep the original club .... although obviously if he tried the same trick again in a few holes then there would be a different viewpoint.
 
He only had 13 clubs when he started so if he swapped I assume he was meant to keep the other club in the bag then and just go up to 14? If he'd taken the first driver out I assume he has then broken the rule and technically should be DQ'd but had he carried two drivers for the second nine he'd have been fine?

No breech as he never exceed 14 clubs at any point during the round.
Even if he had of exceeded 14 clubs then it's a max penalty of 4 strokes. The only reason for DQ would have been failure to apply penalties but as there is none in this case there is no DQ.

You have access to the rule book now so should be no need to make assumptions.
 
Last edited:
You have access to the rule book now so should be no need to make assumptions.

Usually carry one every time I play but it got damp in the downpours last week so took it out to dry and must have forgotten to put it back in. I didn't want to advise him he was OK so left it down to him and to ask the question back in the clubhouse. I only had time to sign the card, put the scores in PSI and shoot off to the hospital with MrsH
 
Usually carry one every time I play but it got damp in the downpours last week so took it out to dry and must have forgotten to put it back in. I didn't want to advise him he was OK so left it down to him and to ask the question back in the clubhouse. I only had time to sign the card, put the scores in PSI and shoot off to the hospital with MrsH

The app is a saviour when stuck if you have a smart phone ;)
 
Top