Career advice needed?!

SirSliceAlot

Club Champion
Visit site
Hi all, just after a bit of advice and opinions from these forums as there seems to be a good mixture of ages and personalitys that may be able to help me.
Basically I am desperate for a career change. I currently work as a production engineer for a chemical manufacturer and have been here for 10+ years, the salary/bonus scheme is around the 'average' mark but as it is a small business there isn't really any scope for career progression as such. I am unhappy, unchallenged and just plain bored of my job basically!
The problem I have is that although I am still a relatively young 31, I now have a wife, 7 month old baby and mortgage to think about and so cannot afford a drop in wages to re-train or start at the bottom of the ladder so to speak. I would love to work for myself or start a small business but these just don't seem like a valid option in my situation. I don't have a degree or a-levels as I left school at 16 and want out of the industry I am currently in.
I am seriously considering a career in sales, maybe as a rep or account manager, as I feel I potentially have the right sort of personality for it but am a bit stuck on how to get my foot in the door without any experience, and also what the sales world is actually like to work in..
Any advice would be greatly appreciated and sorry for rambling on!

cookelad

Tour Winner
Visit site
I started a part-time college course about 5 years ago as I was sick of the hotel/pub trade (I was 25ish at the time, no dependents and felt the risk was minimal) so I could keep working while I was getting a qualification in a different field, during the 1st year I started applying for jobs and got in towards the end the 1st year exams.

It's probably going to be a slow process - not something that will happen over night

Last edited:

HotDogAssassin

Tour Rookie
Visit site