Bought a slow motion camera

raj

Medal Winner
Visit site
Hi guys, long time lurker on the forum. I recently purchased a high speed camera, capable of taking slow motion videos up to 1000fps and thought I would put it to good use with my swing.
I have been playing for about 18 months and was hoping for some help on my swing, this is going to be an ongoing thread where I try to iron out issues then post updated videos.

At the moment, I know I overswing, but am not sure why as my practice swings are nice and short and I have a flap/rubbish follow through.

[video=youtube;9uF8M1XzYKw]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9uF8M1XzYKw&feature=plcp[/video]

Any help appreciated! :)

raj

Medal Winner
Visit site
Also, things I want to work on later:
Holding my lag longer as I release early.
Starting the down swing with my lower body.
For now I would like to nail the fundamentals before working on the rest.

timchump

Q-School Graduate
Visit site
im not an expert im sure one of or resident ones will be along in a minute....

from my experience id say your fundamentals look pretty good, i like the posture grip and wrist cock looks sound.
i agree with what you need to work on in the future. your swing needs to be more dynamic, starting the downswing with the lower half, pushing the hips forward and rotating.

The only flaw i can see in the fundamentals is the across the line position at the top of the backswing, club pointing right, to help with this you need to keep the club head outside of the hands, if you look at 0.24 on the video the club head is to the left, towards the body, inside the hands, you want it more towards the ball or inline with the hands this will help the club get into a laid of position or pointing target at the top, which helps swing path and consistency

raj

Medal Winner
Visit site
Thanks for the comments. Totally agree on the lower body being very static on the way down, something I will be working on over winter.