• We'd like to take this opportunity to wish you a Happy Holidays and a very Merry Christmas from all at Golf Monthly. Thank you for sharing your 2025 with us!

Bit of a funny situation....

kid2

Money List Winner
Joined
Feb 1, 2009
Messages
5,173
Location
Ireland
Visit site
Evening all.....
Played this morning in our monthly medal.......I was playing pretty well by my own standards.......Stroke play....Real golf as my dad calls it :D :D
Anyhoo.....I was 2 under my handicap of 18 for the front 9 turning and was was still 2 under until i hit the 16th.....

I hooked 1 into the rubbish on the left about 30 yrds off the tee box and proceeded and played a provisional.......
When we went searching we found my ball in a weird situation.....It was nestled in knee high grass but was propped up by another lost ball from someone previously in trouble.......
I asked my playing partners for some advice as to what i should do but everyone kinda had a bewildered look and said it was the 1st time they ever saw anything like this.....
I couldnt hit my own ball as i would have caught the one underneath......We couldnt move the one underneath as my own ball would have moved........

So i decided to take a penalty drop and play 3 from the tee.....

I finished this hole (par 5) hitting into the rough on the left of the green for 4 hacked out and shot into a bunker on the far side but rolled out into the grass margin of said bunker a bad chip and 2 putts for an 8 :mad: to really put a downer on my card but battled on and put me level par with 2 to play......

I left the bad behind me and parred our 177 mtre par 3 17th and bogied our 18th par 4 to finish 1 under par for my handicap......

I suppose all in all i have to be happy seeing as we were practically playing off our blue tee's......Our normal white comp tee's were well back most just a metre in front of our championship blue tee's...There was an Intermediate senior and junior scratch cup competition on today as well........


Was i right in taking a penalty drop on 16......Or was there another way that i could have scrooged something from that par 5?
 
I'm only guessing but I'd say if you want to play at your ball then you can. It's not as if you're playing a wrong ball because you know the one on top is yours, and you're swinging at that ball not the one below it. I'd say it was the same as if you'd landed on an apple in the rough.

Having said that though if the rough you found your ball in was knee high, then perhaps 3 off the tee was the better option if you might not even get out of the rough with your second shot.

I assume you went back to the tee though, rather than play the provisional?
 
I'm only guessing but I'd say if you want to play at your ball then you can. It's not as if you're playing a wrong ball because you know the one on top is yours, and you're swinging at that ball not the one below it. I'd say it was the same as if you'd landed on an apple in the rough.

Having said that though if the rough you found your ball in was knee high, then perhaps 3 off the tee was the better option if you might not even get out of the rough with your second shot.

I assume you went back to the tee though, rather than play the provisional?


Ya Region i did go back to the tee.....and i had already hit a provisional just in case i couldnt find the 1st.......
I would have had to come out sideways from the rough.....
It was pretty whispy grass but because of the situation my ball was in i had no control over the outcome of the shot as i dont think i would have got the wedge clean between the 2 balls for a decent strike.....Better safe than sorry i suppose! :(
 
I haven't checked but off top of my head I'd say you had the option of moving the other ball as it's a movable obstruction. You then clearly can't replace yours where it was but have to place as near as possible. Imagine the ball had finished perched on a rake or in a bin, it would be the same rule.

Pretty sure you took the right decision though, sounds like it was in a nasty spot.
 
The answer is where you say "knee high grass".I'm sure most of us would declare the ball unplayable and take three off the tee as you in fact did.

Genuine question here, but since when is that possible? The ball isn't lost, I thought and unplayable meant taking a drop within 2 clubs lengths?

Oh hang on, ok, play a ball from the position last played, which would be the tee, gotcha.
 
Top