Beginner Putter

Dornenglanz

Hacker
Visit site
I've spent the last few hours reading back over dozens of forum posts trying to weed out some general recommendations for my first putter. I'm inclinced to buy second-hand, as this seems to be a good way to get a good quality putter, perhaps a little unfashionable, for an attractive price.

I'm a complete beginner, so all this talk about arcs and putting styles goes over my head. I've had a couple of lessons now, but we haven't got onto putting yet. All I know is that my friend told me to think of my stroke as being like a pendulum, with my shoulders swinging the club, which is what I've been doing. I'm putting reasonably well, and enjoying it, but so far I am unformed.

I'm currently using a "blade" style club with a hickory handle and a leather grip. No idea how old it is. But it's not mine, and I do need to give it back.

I've read the general suggestion to go and try a bunch, but since I'd prefer to get second hand, and since I'm a complete beginner, I don't really think I could get a lot out of trying a bunch of putters and seeing which feels right. Basically I suspect anything will do.

I've seen these on ebay which look appealing to me:

- http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/titleist-...466115?hash=item3d1e4e8003:g:GkQAAOSwv9hW5a2x (I've heard of Scotty Cameron, and this looks attractive)
- http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Wilson-TP...3b99a7b66:g:aDYAAOSwvg9XZSx4&autorefresh=true (this was mentioned on a forum somewhere)
- http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Macgregor...516080?hash=item1c68a1c370:g:GVUAAOSwvg9XXsjx (I've just bought some Macgregor forged irons, so I looked for Mcgregor putters)

Budget is notionally £50, but flexible.

Thoughts?

GreiginFife

Money List Winner
Visit site
There really is no such thing as a beginners putter. Its more personal than that.
Go and try some to find the style that suits your putting stroke, then look for similar style models 2nd hand.