beginner: advice re clubs please!

jusme

Challenge Tour Pro
Visit site
Hi,

I am an absolute beginner and have never played golf (watched a lot ). The closest I have got is a few rounds of pitch and put on holiday and once banging balls of a driver range. I loved it, always had an interest in playing and finally got to a place in life where I have time to do so.

I would love to purchase a complete starter set of clubs and would love some advice on this. I have read around various forums and advice on starting to play online. There is a lot of information available and can be at times confusing.

I have taken on sound advice about getting lessons and then good professional advice about what type of clubs would suit my style, swing speed, height and athleticism etc, however until that time comes till I explore custom fitting of clubs, I do intend to purchase a half decent starter set. I know that these will be short lived if I am any good as I will need tailored fitting clubs, however I am happy with the financial loss that this will incur. Money is not such an important factor here. I would prefer to but a half decent set and get familiar with them and learn from there with lessons following on soon.

Ok so, so much advice about brands etc. most starter sets seem to be the same (i.e. driver, 1 or 2 woods, 1 or 2 hybrid clubs, 5-PW irons, putter and bag) so the clubs in the set are not the issue. I know I have a pretty fast swing. I am 6.2” and can hit the ball a long way with poor looking clubs at the driver range. Of course I was slicing many of them but connecting okish for a first attempt. Based on what I have read then I would look for steel irons and graphite woods.