Beef , Today 14th At The Grove....confused

PhilTheFragger

Provider of Entertainment for the Golfing Gods 🙄
Joined
Oct 29, 2009
Messages
15,785
Location
Aylesbury Bucks
Visit site
Following Beef around at The Grove today, he carved his tee shot at the 14th way right into some shrubs and small trees

The ball was found deep in the clag, but not in any staked hazard

So his choices are
1 Play as it lies
2, 2 club length drop no nearer the hole under penalty of 1 shot
3 replay the shot from the tee, playing 3

a referee was called and he was able to drop back about 80 yards in line with the flag

Anyone able to explain?
 
I think taking a penalty drop due to unplayable also has the option of going back as far as you like, keeping where the ball came to rest in line with the pin.
 
slide_17.jpg
 
Cool , I was under the mistaken impression that the going back in line with the flag was only available if the ball had entered a hazard

I stand corrected and will give my rules tutor a kick :)
 
Cool , I was under the mistaken impression that the going back in line with the flag was only available if the ball had entered a hazard

I stand corrected and will give my rules tutor a kick :)

It might be an age thing, but don't you remember the trouble that Van de Velde got into in the playoff for The Open in 1999?!
 
Following Beef around at The Grove today, he carved his tee shot at the 14th way right into some shrubs and small trees

The ball was found deep in the clag, but not in any staked hazard

So his choices are
1 Play as it lies
2, 2 club length drop no nearer the hole under penalty of 1 shot
3 replay the shot from the tee, playing 3

a referee was called and he was able to drop back about 80 yards in line with the flag

Anyone able to explain?

The Rule you are looking for (or should be looking for) is Rule 28:

http://www.usga.org/rules/rules-and-decisions.html#!rule-28
 
Cool , I was under the mistaken impression that the going back in line with the flag was only available if the ball had entered a hazard

I stand corrected and will give my rules tutor a kick :)

This was a rule I used to know but because every time I was in trouble I was never able to use the option of 'going back in line with flag' (just always seem to move the ball deeper into clag area) I not only forgot it but actually thought it wasn't allowed as an option

Reminded of it as an option a few weeks back by an FC
 
This was a rule I used to know but because every time I was in trouble I was never able to use the option of 'going back in line with flag' (just always seem to move the ball deeper into clag area) I not only forgot it but actually thought it wasn't allowed as an option

Reminded of it as an option a few weeks back by an FC

Interesting.

I'd have thought it was a bit of the rule that was difficult to forget - mainly because of the number of times one has to correct people's misunderstanding of going back along the line it went into the clag .
 
I reckon this option is often overlooked as it can be a rare occurrence when its actually a viable choice.
Certainly on my course, I can't think of many places where going back on a line after being in the clag is going to leave a better shot than hacking it out...
 
I reckon this option is often overlooked as it can be a rare occurrence when its actually a viable choice.
Certainly on my course, I can't think of many places where going back on a line after being in the clag is going to leave a better shot than hacking it out...

Is that your excuse for not telling me? :) :)
 
I was under the mistaken impression that the going back in line with the flag was only available if the ball had entered a hazard

Total confusion. Being in a bunker is the exception in that you must remain in the bunker if you want to exercise that option - and the option is not open to you if you are in a water hazard as you cannot declare it unplayable.
 
Total confusion. Being in a bunker is the exception in that you must remain in the bunker if you want to exercise that option - and the option is not open to you if you are in a water hazard as you cannot declare it unplayable.

If he was in a water hazard he would have option 26-1 which states "Drop a ball behind the water hazard, keeping the point at which the original ball last crossed the margin of the water hazard directly between the hole and the spot on which the ball is dropped, with no limit to how far behind the water hazard the ball may be dropped"

So I think totally confused is a little excessive.
 
If he was in a water hazard he would have option 26-1 which states "Drop a ball behind the water hazard, keeping the point at which the original ball last crossed the margin of the water hazard directly between the hole and the spot on which the ball is dropped, with no limit to how far behind the water hazard the ball may be dropped"

So I think totally confused is a little excessive.

Ill pay you later Duncan :)
 
Top