salfordlad
Well-known member
No penalty for accidental movement in stroke play. The subsequent action taken does not change that.He ran over the ball accidentally but lifted and dropped it on purpose
No penalty for accidental movement in stroke play. The subsequent action taken does not change that.He ran over the ball accidentally but lifted and dropped it on purpose
While we're on this topic of players lifting other player's balls.In stroke play, accidental movement of another player's ball is no penalty. In match play, accidental movement of opponent's ball generally gets one stroke penalty, but there are exceptions, see rule 9.5.
14.1b does not have a penalty statement for the "crime" of lifting someone else's ball (lifting defined in the rule to include lifting, rotating, deliberately causing movement) so I think you are on safe ground saying no penalty under 14.1b for lifting someone's ball. But it is possible to get other penalties for lifting someone's ball for illegitimate reasons - starting with the crude - deliberately standing on or kicking someone else's ball into the pond could get you DQd for serious misconduct; to the well-intentioned - lifting someone's ball on the fringe so it doesn't prevent another ball in motion from running on to the green would get the general penalty for breach of 11.3.While we're on this topic of players lifting other player's balls.
Rule 14.1b is quite clear and emphatic:
Who May Lift Ball
The player’s ball may be lifted under the Rules only by:
The player, or
Anyone the player authorizes, but such authorization must be given each time before the ball is lifted rather than given generally for the round.
But as far as I can see - and I have searched high and low - there is no penalty for a breach of this rule when the ball is lifted by an outside influence (i.e. another player in stroke play, fellow competitor, whatever term you want to use). I am not referring to an opponent in match play or a caddie.
I try to educate players that it is against the rules to lift another player's ball (on the putiing green) without the owner's authorisation - even if they think they are just trying to be 'helpful'. Without any penalty attached, though, Rule 14.1b is quite toothless.
If anybody can point me to a penalty for a breach of 14.1b I'd be very grateful, and probably very sheepish.