another rule 26 decision

bernix

Challenge Tour Pro
Joined
Nov 20, 2007
Messages
887
Location
Austria
Visit site
as i cannot find the relevant decision in the rules book please help with this rule 26/27 question:
my fellow competitor hit his 2nd shot into an area which is marked as LATERAL WATER HAZARD. it is our renaturalized former driving range and one must not enter the area. he dropped a ball under rule 26 and made a stroke. moving on he found his original ball outside the water hazard. now what?
 
26-1/3 applies

26-1/3 Ball Played Under Water Hazard Rule; Original Ball Then Found Outside Hazard
Q.A player believed his original ball had come to rest in a water hazard. He searched for about a minute but did not find his ball. He therefore dropped another ball behind the hazard under Rule 26-1 and played it. He then found his original ball outside the hazard within five minutes of having begun to search for it. What is the ruling?

A.When the player dropped and played another ball behind the hazard, it became the ball in play and the original ball was lost.

If it was known or virtually certain that the original ball was in the water hazard, the player was entitled to invoke Rule 26-1. In the absence of knowledge or virtual certainty that the original ball was in the water hazard, the player was required to put another ball into play under Rule 27-1. In playing the ball dropped under Rule 26-1, the player played from a wrong place.

In match play, he incurred a penalty of loss of hole (Rule 20-7b).

In stroke play, he incurred the stroke-and-distance penalty prescribed by Rule 27-1 and an additional penalty of two strokes for a breach of that Rule (Rule 20-7c). If the breach was a serious one, he was subject to disqualification unless he corrected the error as provided in Rule 20-7c.
 
Last edited:
that was the decision i found but the wording says "Before he plays the dropped ball
if the same decision applies in case the dropped ball has been played why is it there?
 
that was the decision i found but the wording says "Before he plays the dropped ball
if the same decision applies in case the dropped ball has been played why is it there?

Probably because that was the text of the request for a Decision.

Because the dropped ball immediately becomes the ball in play, there would be no difference whether the original (now 'Lost') ball was found before or after the dropped ball was played.
 
if the player is not virtually certain that the ball is lost inside the water hazard, may he play a provisional ball and, if his original ball is subsequently found WITHIN the water hazard, continue under rule 26?
 
that was the decision i found but the wording says "Before he plays the dropped ball
if the same decision applies in case the dropped ball has been played why is it there?

I don't see those words in Decision 26-1/3. However, they are used in the next Decision, 26-1/3.5
 
if the player is not virtually certain that the ball is lost inside the water hazard, may he play a provisional ball and, if his original ball is subsequently found WITHIN the water hazard, continue under rule 26?

Nope, he has to go back or take the drop. The original is the ball in play.
 
if the player is not virtually certain that the ball is lost inside the water hazard, may he play a provisional ball and, if his original ball is subsequently found WITHIN the water hazard, continue under rule 26?

If I am reading your question rightly, that is correct. He may play a provisional ball if his ball might be lost other than in the water hazard but if he finds his original ball in the water hazard in time, he must continue with it under Rule 26.
 
If I am reading your question rightly, that is correct. He may play a provisional ball if his ball might be lost other than in the water hazard but if he finds his original ball in the water hazard in time, he must continue with it under Rule 26.

thanks. that's how we will continue next time a ball sails towards the lateral water hazard at our 15th hole and we cannot be certain that it is lost within
 
as i cannot find the relevant decision in the rules book please help with this rule 26/27 question:
my fellow competitor hit his 2nd shot into an area which is marked as LATERAL WATER HAZARD. it is our renaturalized former driving range and one must not enter the area. he dropped a ball under rule 26 and made a stroke. moving on he found his original ball outside the water hazard. now what?

Unless "renaturalized" means it was originally an open water course, you should get the club to look into the correct marking for a former driving range. It should not qualify as a LWH.
 
Unless "renaturalized" means it was originally an open water course, you should get the club to look into the correct marking for a former driving range. It should not qualify as a LWH.

it is a natural protected area. there's no water in it and never has been. what in your opinion is the correct marking though?
 
it is a natural protected area. there's no water in it and never has been. what in your opinion is the correct marking though?

In which case, either Out of Bounds, or, if an appropriate authority outside of the club has declared it to be so, then an Environmentally sensitive area - which in turn can be GUR, Water Hazard or OOB as appropriate.

But effectively it is a place where play should not take place, therefore should not be part of the course and almost by default , should be OOB.
 
Top