Advice for new golfer

Pommy

Visit site
Hi everybody,

I’ve been practising now for roughly for 4 months and had a number of lessons, my confidence is on the up and feeling like my bad shots are reducing.

I’m just looking for advice, I really want to get out on the course now, I feel like it will help my learning. I’ve bought all the equipment and clothes, shoes etc.

I’m just nervous of being out on the course, I play on my own and will be visiting on my own. The worries are basically being in people’s way, playing too slow, generally just a bit daunted.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks everybody.

MartynB

Assistant Pro
Visit site
Take up fishing. This golf lark is highly addictive! I think you are going along the right lines. Maybe play nine holes or a par 3 late on Saturday or Sunday when courses are much quieter, but then again don’t feel you need to hide away as a new golfer. You will soon see a whole range of abilities on the course and should not feel intimidated.

HomerJSimpson

Hall of Famer
Visit site
Welcome along. Why not start at a local pay and play and go out one afternoon or evening when it may be a little quieter and easier to get on. I'd just go out and have fun with it and just be wary of those coming up behind and let them through if you start to hold anyone up. Other than that, don't have too many expectations, don't get too frustrated and have fun

Pommy

Visit site
That made me laugh as I already go fly fishing most weekends. I think you’ve hit the nail on the head though. I’m watching online booking facilities to try find the quiet time, but as soon as it shows somebody has booked within say half an hour, I rule it out. I do feel as though I’m hiding away.

I’m trying to avoid weekends as much as possible, but it looks like we are in for a glorious weekend so wanted to take advantage.

I think I have a mental picture that I’m going to go to a course, and everybody is going to be playing like the pro’s.

User101

Blackballed
Banned