Acceptable score on non ‘qualifying’ course

D-S

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 31, 2020
Messages
3,328
Location
Bristol
Visit site
If you have a course which, as a whole, is non qualifying as three holes are on temporary greens with ‘bucket’ holes, could you submit a social score having played all 18 holes but inputting NS for the 3 holes that were on the unacceptable temporary greens?
 

woofers

Medal Winner
Joined
Feb 27, 2018
Messages
922
Visit site
No idea and it’s a faff to trawl through the manual but surely it’s against the spirit if you know the course is non qualifying.
A solution to prevent this would be for clubs to go into the EG WHS platform and switch off the tees (markers) so that rounds cannot be registered in the first place.
 

Old Skier

Tour Winner
Joined
May 10, 2013
Messages
9,607
Location
Instow - play in North Devon
Visit site
If you have a course which, as a whole, is non qualifying as three holes are on temporary greens with ‘bucket’ holes, could you submit a social score having played all 18 holes but inputting NS for the 3 holes that were on the unacceptable temporary greens?
Whoever is responsible for the WHS should have switched of the tees on the DB which would stop a specific tee set being used for qualifying via the EG App and downloads from the ISV.
 

jim8flog

Journeyman Pro
Joined
May 20, 2017
Messages
15,118
Location
Yeovil
Visit site
The simple answer is no as the course must be suitable for qualifying competitions and more than 2 temporary greens makes a course not suitable.

However if the course has a nine hole rating (listed on the DB and England Golf) and the temporary greens are not on the 9 hole rated section you could put in a 9 hole score.
 

saxonal

New member
Joined
Oct 20, 2021
Messages
5
Visit site
If you have a course which, as a whole, is non qualifying as three holes are on temporary greens with ‘bucket’ holes, could you submit a social score having played all 18 holes but inputting NS for the 3 holes that were on the unacceptable temporary greens?
If you have a course which, as a whole, is non qualifying as three holes are on temporary greens with ‘bucket’ holes, could you submit a social score having played all 18 holes but inputting NS for the 3 holes that were on the unacceptable temporary greens?
WHS Rule of Handicapping 3.2 allows rounds acceptable for handicap purposes to be submitted as long as a minimum of 10 holes have been completed! Those holes out of play must be out for valid reasons such as bad weather, loss of light, maintenance etc other examples given in rule. We have bucket holes on fairways and therefore they do not comply with rules of golf, so cannot not be classed as temporaries. We had attempted to play a round with 13 main greens in play and to play the bucket hole holes (main greens out flooded) for continuity purposes only using, "Not Started" or "Did Not Play" for these holes in scoring software. Scores were accepted by WHS and we thought great at least we can play a semi-meaningful round of golf. An email has just been issued saying that our Authorising Association has advised that play on these bucket holes that are deemed out of play is against the rules of golf as this is classed as on course practice. Qualifiers can be played but players must walk past and must not play the out of play bucket holes. Is this really what the WHS meant when they talked of improving opportunities for more scores to be recorded in winter golf? Local rules allowing on course practice were mentioned but apparently they only apply to before and between competition rounds, not during. Lets simplify the rules of golf they said!!!!
 

Colin L

Tour Winner
Joined
May 26, 2012
Messages
5,300
Location
Edinburgh
Visit site
WHS Rule of Handicapping 3.2 allows rounds acceptable for handicap purposes to be submitted as long as a minimum of 10 holes have been completed! Those holes out of play must be out for valid reasons such as bad weather, loss of light, maintenance etc other examples given in rule. We have bucket holes on fairways and therefore they do not comply with rules of golf, so cannot not be classed as temporaries. We had attempted to play a round with 13 main greens in play and to play the bucket hole holes (main greens out flooded) for continuity purposes only using, "Not Started" or "Did Not Play" for these holes in scoring software. Scores were accepted by WHS and we thought great at least we can play a semi-meaningful round of golf. An email has just been issued saying that our Authorising Association has advised that play on these bucket holes that are deemed out of play is against the rules of golf as this is classed as on course practice. Qualifiers can be played but players must walk past and must not play the out of play bucket holes. Is this really what the WHS meant when they talked of improving opportunities for more scores to be recorded in winter golf? Local rules allowing on course practice were mentioned but apparently they only apply to before and between competition rounds, not during. Lets simplify the rules of golf they said!!!!

Why blame the rules of golf for a situation you have created yourselves - a course with 5 holes which don't conform to the rules?

Anyway, I have to say I find the ruling a bit odd and unnecessarily strained. Here's a more straightforward explanation. You can submit a score for a round in which you did not start a hole or a limited number of holes and the reason for doing so is acceptable. In the situation you describe, everyone has started all 18 holes and so this provision isn't applicable. You have played all 18 holes but because there are holes on which the holes are non-conforming the round has not been played according to the rules and isn't acceptable for handicapping purposes.

Sounds simple enough to me!
 
Last edited:

3offTheTee

Tour Rookie
Joined
Dec 29, 2006
Messages
3,327
Location
Cumbria
Visit site
The simple answer is no as the course must be suitable for qualifying competitions and more than 2 temporary greens makes a course not suitable.

However if the course has a nine hole rating (listed on the DB and England Golf) and the temporary greens are not on the 9 hole rated section you could put in a 9 hole score.
If there is 1 temporary green on a 9 hole rated course, eg the front nine, is this acceptable please?
 

rulefan

Tour Winner
Joined
Feb 21, 2013
Messages
14,750
Visit site
If there is 1 temporary green on a 9 hole rated course, eg the front nine, is this acceptable please?
From EG

Winter Golf Checklist & Reference Guide – For Handicap Purposes
Temporary Greens For scores to be acceptable, no more than 2 temporary greens are allowed to be used. For a 9-hole course, only one temporary green will be allowed.
 
Top