berniethebolt
Newbie
In a friendly fourball one player hit his drive into a seemingly innocuous area of rough. On arriving at the spot it was obvious that the ball was not going to be easily found. After a couple of minutes the player decided to return to the tee and play another ball but asked the other three to keep looking and, if they found his ball, to shout and he would return and play it. This is what happened within the 5 minutes allowed and before he hit the new ball and he continued with his original ball. After the game the question was raised as to whether this was permissible under the rules. One opinion was that by, in effect, abandoning the ball he could no longer play it. The other feeling was that as the ball had not been 'lost' by any of the definitions then not only could he continue to play it but must play it. Comments?