A couple of rules questions...

Farneyman

Tour Winner
Joined
May 3, 2008
Messages
3,725
Location
Scotland via Ireland
Visit site
Player hits tee shot towards OOB's but ball hit wall across the road and looks like it bounced back in...plays provisional from tee just in case (shorter than 1st) then plays provisional to the side of the green...

Back to original ball which was then found in the bushes back in play...player proceeded to take unplayable then hit a flyer...over the back of green...

When looking for ball it was clear it was OOB through the back. A dog walker threw the ball back and the player began to go back to replay the shot from the original spot only to then notice it wasn't his original ball although same make and number but without his "tag"

What is the correct way to address this? This was a non scoring situation but curious as to what the correct action would be.

Hope my explanation is clear enough...
 
Player hits tee shot towards OOB's but ball hit wall across the road and looks like it bounced back in...plays provisional from tee just in case (shorter than 1st) then plays provisional to the side of the green...

Provisional ball played correctly to this point.

Back to original ball which was then found in the bushes back in play...player proceeded to take unplayable then hit a flyer...over the back of green...
Original ball has been found in play, so, the provisional is now out of play. 3 strokes played.

When looking for ball it was clear it was OOB through the back. A dog walker threw the ball back and the player began to go back to replay the shot from the original spot only to then notice it wasn't his original ball although same make and number but without his "tag"

The ball appears to be OOB, so, back to the point where it was last played from under Stroke & Distance playing 5 on the next shot to the green.

What is the correct way to address this? This was a non scoring situation but curious as to what the correct action would be.

Hope my explanation is clear enough...


See RED above
 
Ah ...... misread, thought it was the ball through the back that was not his on return.

A wrong ball scenario then ;)
 
If the original ball was properly identified, then still back to where last shot played, but because the ball was OOB/Lost - and the dog-walker incident is irrelevant as it's not the same ball that was played - the dog-walker probably found A ball, but not THE ball!

If the original ball was not properly identified but simply played because it was in the area, then it's possible/likely that the dog-walker DID find and throw back the (wrong) ball that was hit - so a different scenario unfolds. In this case, the Provisional would have become the ball in play, so back to THAT area and play (4th) from there (dropping if, as likely, the ball was not still there!). There would also be a 1SP to add for playing the wrong ball (the supposed original OOB etc) and, if it wasn't discarded and was now in the player's pocket, another 1SP (I believe but am not absolutely certain) to add for moving the ball in play (provided it was moved into the player's pocket). So when playing the Provo, now the ball in play, it would be 'playing 6th.

Hope that all makes sense!
 
If the ball pulled out from the bush was not the OB, it was not a wrong ball but an improper substitution. When that ball was dropped it became the ball in play but you were not entitled to the substitution at that place. You would continue with that ball, adding on a 2 stroke penalty for the improper substitution and hole out with it. You have to consider that the substitution was likely a serious breach (playing from where you did instead of from where you played your previous shot) and would therefore have to go back to the tee to play a second ball from the right place, hole out with that and report the events to the Committee for it to decide which ball should count.

Farneyman has clarified that the ball in the bush was not the OB.
 
Last edited:
Top