25, taking up golf...meeting others?

Rcaslake

Hacker
Visit site
Hi all, as the title suggests I'm 25 and just starting to take up golf however I am the only person in my circle who is interested in the sport.

I am keen to get out on a course but can anyone recommend a way of meeting other like minded people who would play against a complete newbie.

Worthing, West Sussex
Cheers

xcore

Head Pro
Visit site
I picked up the sticks at 26, 2 and abit years ago, find a local course that offers discounted membership and play in the roll ups

TreeSeeker

Assistant Pro
Visit site
Just ask and you've got a game! 28 here and I know the feeling of trying to get someone to take a round with!

Dasit

Tour Rookie
Visit site
I am in my late 20s, I just play with the 50+ peep at my club

They are still a good laugh and you find you have plenty of common even with the pensioners

ScienceBoy

Money List Winner
Visit site
My club had an intermediate section. I also just talked to people and got games. Hanging round the club practicing and generally being active. Had three regular four balls pretty quick so plenty of choice of who to play with.

I got into matches, winter leagues, Thursday evening leagues etc

chrisd

Major Champion
Visit site
Welcome to the forum. I'd join a club and ask those who handle your joining to introduce you to the best swindle organiser for the times/days you can play. You'll soon get to know people and then you will branch out and play all sorts of games with a variety of people. Also, put your name down for any forum meets you fancy - we're a bunch of oddballs, but the meets are good fun

BubbaP

Occasional Player of Golf
Visit site