Yellow Penalty Areas

Colin
I've noticed that before. I just thought I was a slow typist but sometimes it appears that minutes have elapsed (as in this case - 1st post 10.20 by J and yours at 10.37) I know you are slowing down but surely not that much.
 
As said, that one has been with us for decades...

I have always had a poor knowledge where (what were ) water hazards are concerned simply because we only have one with yellow stakes and it is very straight forward as it is a weir pool that stretches across the whole of one hole and one area of red , the stream leading away form the weir pool that comes away at right angles, and you would not want to play from the other side. Most sections of the river and stream through the course are OB.
 
I'm not following this. You can't take unplayable relief if your ball is in a penalty area. There are only 2 options - play the ball as it lies or take penalty relief 17.1d. How could you take the player's actions to be taking unplayable relief?

Edit Already said. That's not the first time I've opened this forum, replied to the last post showing and then after posting found several previous replies that weren't showing before.

You were typing or posting at the same time as I was typing.
 
Or, arguably, considered their options under the old rules either (in that chipping from the walkway would always have been an option)
Duvall in the clip says he contacted Woods for a comment and stated Woods said he didn’t even know it was an option.

I would of thought that level of player would have someone in his “team” that would have this knowledge that would maybe update him and his caddie before any events with local rules or nuances.
 
Duvall in the clip says he contacted Woods for a comment and stated Woods said he didn’t even know it was an option.

I would of thought that level of player would have someone in his “team” that would have this knowledge that would maybe update him and his caddie before any events with local rules or nuances.
Particularly since Vijay used that option two weeks ago at the Honda Classic. The announcers were confused by Vijay's relief, but at least they (the announcers) learned something about the Rules.
 
Just to update this thread, the Rules clarification issued this month includes a revision to 17.1d (2) which now requires the reference point itself to be outside the penalty area.
 
Just to update this thread, the Rules clarification issued this month includes a revision to 17.1d (2) which now requires the reference point itself to be outside the penalty area.
When does this come into force - straight away?
And how is this clarification communicated to the players?
It strikes me that the average conscientious player will be in danger of breaching this rule if they read the rule book and conclude (as we have done earlier in this thread) that they can drop out sideways from a yellow PA.
 
When does this come into force - straight away?
And how is this clarification communicated to the players?
It strikes me that the average conscientious player will be in danger of breaching this rule if they read the rule book and conclude (as we have done earlier in this thread) that they can drop out sideways from a yellow PA.
There are many that might agree with your perspective...
Clarifications (which include new interpretations etc) are now issued quarterly and can be view (if you go looking for them) in the official Rules apps as well as on the R & A and USGA Web portals.
Unsurprisingly April's includes club's breaking and replacing and caddie positioning as well.
Given the push tonthe players edition of the rules, which doesn't cover everything, I'm personally not surprised at the disconnect; and we still have the gap between those aware of a detailed ruling and those who might also benefit from associated knowledge - I'm sure there is a plan somewhere!
 
Is the clarification really going to cause any/much additional confusion?

By saying the reference point can't be in the penalty area, does it not mean that the "back on a line" relief is now (pretty much) exactly as it was under the old rules (as was presumably intended?). And had many folk "twigged" the possibility of a 1CL sideways drop if the reference point was just a few millimetres inside the PA?

Anyhow, as per Duncan's place, we've gone over to having only red PAs, so not an issue for us.
 
I think the R&A are stretching the word clarification which means to make things clearer and avoid ambiguity. It was very clear that the reference point was anywhere on the course of the players choosing. To now say that it is anywhere on the course except in a PA is simply re-writing the rule.
 
I think the R&A are stretching the word clarification which means to make things clearer and avoid ambiguity. It was very clear that the reference point was anywhere on the course of the players choosing. To now say that it is anywhere on the course except in a PA is simply re-writing the rule.
I think I disagree. My view is that the R&A and USGA always intended relief from a yellow PA to be much the same as for a non-lateral water hazard as per the previous rules, and never intended the 1CL relief area to allow you to drop out sideways. The clarification has restored their original intention.
 
I think I disagree. My view is that the R&A and USGA always intended relief from a yellow PA to be much the same as for a non-lateral water hazard as per the previous rules, and never intended the 1CL relief area to allow you to drop out sideways. The clarification has restored their original intention.
I don't think you are necessarily disagreeing with RulesGuy - he didn't offer an opinion on intention at all!

His point, which infundamentally agree on, is that they haven't clarified the rule - they have changed it.
Whether this clarifies their original intention, or is a revised view following observation of the rule in use (or even following a contribution from the Master's committee) is a mute point.

Anyhow, as it stands it's the mechanism they have available and they have used it.
 
Top