Wrong Ball Rule 6.3

Dutch Boy

New member
Joined
Apr 4, 2019
Messages
23
Visit site
I’m having a problem understanding this rule and would really appreciate some feedback.
I have two Stroke/ Stableford competition scenarios:
Scenario 1:
Player A holes out on the 10th and realises that he/she had played the same wrong ball for the last two holes.
Penalty Disqualification???? Rule 6.3c
Scenario 2:
Player B and C on the 9th both realise that that they had holed out with each other’s ball. Both were certain that they had teed off with the ball that they had holed.
Penalty Nil??? Rule 6.3a and Interpretation 6.3a/1

Now all three player have played a Wrong Ball but only one player (A) is disqualified.
Am I right or am I missing something?
Cheers
 
In stroke play, all three players are disqualified for failing to correct their mistake of playing a wrong ball before playing from the next teeing area.
In Stableford, they will have to decide on which hole they played the wrong ball and will score zero points for that hole.
 
Scenario 1 - I don't understand how a player can "play the same wrong ball for the last two holes" ? It can only be a wrong ball on one hole. If you tee off with it, its the "right" ball. Stroke play, still disqualified as a wrong ball was played & mistake not corrected; Stableford, nil points for 1 hole, as it was a wrong ball on only one hole..

Scenario 2. If both players are absolutely sure they started the hole with each others ball, then no penalty - you can start a hole with any ball. They must have swapped the balls at some stage, but in theory it could have been between holes (although my thought it that is was probably during play of a previous hole. But that is unlikely to be adequately established).
 
As presented none of the players has played a wrong ball on that hole.

All 3 players holed out with the ball they teed off with on that hole.

However, in scenario 1 the player is certain that on an earlier, unknown, hole he played a wrong ball. Having teed off on a subsequent hole he is disqualified in a medal round, or disqualified from the hole on which it is believed the wrong ball was played in stableford.

In scenario 2 the question becomes whether the players had played a wrong ball earlier in the round or whether the switch had resulted from a simple exchange e.g. player A picks up player B ball when he blobs a hole but subsequently hands him his ball by mistake...
 
Thank you for clarifications on my problem.
I now have a much clearer understanding of playing a Wrong Ball
Cheers 😊
 
Top