would this be considered a training aid so illegal

turkish

Journeyman Pro
Joined
Aug 19, 2014
Messages
1,655
Location
Glasgow
Visit site
I sometimes have a problem with a bit too much tension and can affect swing so i'm going to try this drill

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PUkfA71lVZ0

In competition would this be illegal as a training aid? I'm guessing yes even though rather innocuous

says westwood does it with his tongue which if I get used to could be an option but right now don't fancy biting off the tip of my tongue LOL
 
I sometimes have a problem with a bit too much tension and can affect swing so i'm going to try this drill

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PUkfA71lVZ0

In competition would this be illegal as a training aid? I'm guessing yes even though rather innocuous

says westwood does it with his tongue which if I get used to could be an option but right now don't fancy biting off the tip of my tongue LOL

Take up smoking, always fancied a pipe myself... this could be the reason i use to justify taking up smoking to the wife:rofl:
 
Going with 14-3, no you can't use a tee to chomp down in your mouth:

Except as provided in the Rules, during a stipulated round the player must not use any artificial device or unusual equipment (see Appendix IV for detailed specifications and interpretations), or use any equipment in an unusual manner:

a. That might assist him in making a stroke or in his play;

You'd be using a tee in an unusual manner, which is in turn, helping you make a stroke
 
I'd say no
simply not a designated training aid.
whether a tee peg, cigarette or a boiled sweet, all could be used to simulate the feel you require.
 
Pencils, biros and tee pegs are not training aids as such, but being items of your equipment you would have to ask these questions:

Is biting on one during your stroke an unusual* use of the item?
If yes, does it assist you in your stroke?
If yes, is it a traditionally accepted use of this equipment?
If no, then you are in breach of Rule 14-3.

*(From January 2016, the wording of Rule 14-3 is changed: unusual becomes abnormal but the question remains - is this practice abnormal?)

I would answer -
Yes, it is an unusual/abnormal use of the equipment;
Yes, it is intended to assist you in your play;
No, it is not a traditionally accepted use.
It is a breach of 14-3.
 
I kinda have to agree it would be a breach.... but then we go into what about a boiled sweet or cigarette like someone says then it would become a bit grey!

Would be a bit ridiculous to be banned for doing this with a sweet even though potentially it could be helping your swing.... or even people who chew chewing gum to help them concentrate. interesting.
 
I didn't spell it out but if the answer to my first question is no, then you are not going to breach 14-3. Ask yourself if any of putting a sweet in your mouth, chewing gum or holding a fag between your lips is an abnormal use of the item. Clearly not and so no breach.
 
will need to stock up on sweets then :-D

Or lollies ;)
shopping


the stick could resemble a tee
 
Top