Why I hate football.......

cm_qs

Head Pro
Visit site
Having gone off on a fatigue-fuelled rant last night about why I love golf, I have decided to devote tonights diatribe to why I bloody hate football :mad:

I should clarify at this point that it is not the sport itself that I dislike. I totally understand why people want to play football and even watch it. It's the whole culture that goes along with it I can't stand.

I work in the construction industry and subsequently spend the vast majority of my working week in a manky portacabin in almost exclusively male company ...... and all anybody ever talks about is "the fitba" I drive home from work and all I can get on the radio is the football phone in. Open any tabloid newspaper and, even on a day of the week where there are no actual football matches to report on, there are more pages devoted to it than any other subject.

It's so tribal. A substitute for primeval battles with the opposing village and I just don't get it :D
Clearly I must be more of a lone wolf type.
What I hate most about it though is that it brings out the absolute worst in people. You never hear on the news of Formula 1 riots or ping-pong violence. The Tiger Woods firm has never ambushed the Harrington casuals outside Carnoustie railway station.
You can go to a Scotland - England rugby international and the fans all sit together and drink beer. Try that at Wembley and see what happens. :mad:

What really annoys me more than anything else though is that if you don't like football then you are treated as though you are some sort of freak who's only just landed from another planet. Maybe that's just a Glasgow thing, I truly don't know.

So, my question to the forum is - am I a weirdo?

(not generally, just about the football thing :D)

John_Findlay

Tour Winner
Visit site
Nope Craig. You've just seen the light!