Why do I hit it right? (Video link)

Mon_papillon

Hacker
Visit site
Hello, I'm new to golf, been playing for about 6 months, had 7 lessons with a local pro and due to start another 6 end of the week.

I've been lurking for the past few months but just registered so hoping for some insight.

I am hitting the ball right, consistently! I got a friend to record a video and it looks like my hands are forward in the down swing? What do you guys think?

http://vid288.photobucket.com/album...trim.291EA6A9-0009-4485-B0E0-0A7163B23F67.mp4

JustOne

Ryder Cup Winner
www.justoneuk.com
Welcome... someone will be along soon(ish) with an indepth reply.

welcome to the forum :thup:

Just out of interest, what's your h/cap (or don't you have one yet?) and do you shank the ball occasionally? Pretty good looking swing you have there already.

Last edited:

Mon_papillon

Hacker
Visit site
Hey, thanks for your reply!

I don't currently have a handicap, only started playing early September with some hand me down clubs (recently got fitted for some irons which made my strike far more consistent)

I appreciate your comment on my swing - has come along way over the last 6months and thanks to the lessons, I have had about a month with no lessons just range and the odd round and have developed the push/bend to the right and can't seem to crack it! I am due to start lessons again next week but was keen to get some insight :)

As for shanks - only very occasionally, no more often than a thin or fat (joys of being a beginner) my strike however is generally pretty good 9/10 times

C

Foxholer

Blackballed
Visit site
That one seemed to go pretty straight - at least initially! Do they go straight right? Or do they bend to the right halfway or more along the flight - ie fade/slice. I can see why a slice could happen as you are cutting across the ball with an out-to-in swing.