Why do I find it easier to get out bunkers with my 54 degree than my 60?

turkish

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
I have a low bounce 60 degree vokey (L grind) and mid bounce 54 degree vokey (s grind).

I know my fault is often I take too much sand so I need to swing quite fast to pop it up and out.

with my 54 degree I get it out 9 of 10 (or probably more 19/20) but the 60 is probably like 50/50... not only that I feel as if I can control distance a bit better with the 54. I'm not really complaining as I know which suits me better and don't have much time for practicing bunker play and the time I do have is better suited to other parts of my game

But I would like to know why when most people say a 60 degree makes the job much easier?

Region3

Ryder Cup Winner
Visit site
I'm the same. I assume it's a fault with my technique that means I'm too steep rather than slicing under the ball, but the 54 comes out nice and the 60 really heavy with too much sand.

My 54 is S grind 10 bounce, the 60 is M grind 8 bounce. I guess it must be the grind rather than the bounce because I open both of them way up in bunkers.
The flip side is that I'm confident opening the 60 off a tight lie whereas I wouldn't feel comfortable doing it with the 54.

turkish

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
I'm the same. I assume it's a fault with my technique that means I'm too steep rather than slicing under the ball, but the 54 comes out nice and the 60 really heavy with too much sand.

My 54 is S grind 10 bounce, the 60 is M grind 8 bounce. I guess it must be the grind rather than the bounce because I open both of them way up in bunkers.
The flip side is that I'm confident opening the 60 off a tight lie whereas I wouldn't feel comfortable doing it with the 54.