Who doesn't use a driver?

philsh

Assistant Pro
Visit site
Does anybody just use a 3wd instead of using a driver? I don't have a 3wd but tempted to drop the driver as its abit hit and miss at the min and buy a 3wd. Been at the range twice this weekend just working with my 5wd and getting some good results. Its better to be 20yards shorter on the fairway than further up in the rough aint it.

Neddy

Challenge Tour Pro
Visit site
Lots of people don't from what i see hear.

Personally i am no more accurate with a 3W than a Driver

BRISTOL86

Head Pro
Visit site
I'm a complete beginner and consciously chose not to buy a driver or any woods so that I can master the basics first with irons and then introduce more difficult clubs.

duncan mackie

Money List Winner
Visit site
I'm don't currently have my driver in the bag but that's because the additional distance isn't a help rather than any particular issues with it!

Considering yesterday's match it was fairly even split between 3w and 3h with a couple of 4i off the tees - so it's not even a matter of using the 3w all the time.

Most senior matches are played of the yellow tees and just don't need it in current conditions (the above wasn't a seniors match and was off the back).

Knockout semi tomorrow - whilst there is the possibility for some psycological advantage on the odd occassion I can't see it being in the bag then either. Thinking about this it won't - he doesn't react! So even giving 17 shots it won't be needed.

Last edited:

car.crash

Assistant Pro
Visit site
I've been playing for 2 years and I always carried a g20 driver but never played it as I could never get it to go straight.
I always used a 3w.

I picked up a R1 driver and can bomb that miles further than my 3w and it goes straight so I now have a driver again.

Coatsy79

Q-School Graduate
Visit site
I have a driver but very seldom use it