Which Wedges fill the gap?

HarryMonk

Challenge Tour Pro
Visit site
I'm at a lose with wedges I know a gap needs filling between PW and SW but I'm not sure which degrees are required or even what degree a good sand should be?

Also what in all of your considered opinions are the Wedges to go for?

bobmac

Major Champion
Visit site
The best thing to do is to get your new wedge lofts checked. See your local pro.
You'll probably find the wedge is around 46 deg and SW is 54-56 deg. So your gap wedge will be around 50 deg.
I would suggest waiting until you have got your new set of irons and get the gap wedge to match the set.
But I have 2 questions.
1 What club are you going to lose out of your set? and
2 Why do you feel you need a gap wedge?
I've been playing for 40 years and never found the need for one.

HTL

Tour Winner
Visit site
The gap between PW - SW can be overcome by choking down on you PW and giving it a 1/2 - 3/4 swing.

Have you spent time playing around trying different length swings etc, Don't know why im giving advice on this as the short game is my worst game.

Imurg

The Grinder Of Pars (Semi Crocked)
Visit site
The Gap Wedge helps out so that people don't have to play 1/2 and 3/4 shots. Some can do it but to some its so tricky to judge distance. Why have to judge it if you can have a club that, when hit with your normal swing, goes the required distance?

I've got 4 wedges. 46, 50, 54, and 58. I lose the 3 iron completely and replace the 4 with a hybrid. If you play the majority of your shots from 120 yards in, it makes sense to have more clubs at that end of the bag rather than load up with long clubs. Chances are you're going to miss the green from 200 yards out, but putting a normal swing on a gap wedge from, say, 100 gives a decent chance of hitting the green.

Mawgan

Club Champion
Visit site