Where to place the ball

Ian_Bristol

Head Pro
Joined
Apr 18, 2009
Messages
333
Location
Bristol
Visit site
I was playing this morning and was in the first group out, stood on the par 3 tenth tee and put my first shot into the clubhouse pond about 20 yards to the right of the tee box after the cheers from all I put another ball down and hit another which was no better I still got it off the toe but just got over the pond, feeling rather silly I walked up to the green and waited for my 2 playing partners to hole their shots out and then went onto the 11th so 1st hole first and only blob of the round.
When we were in the clubhouse after waiting for the rest of the groups to come in a mate mentioned that there was a sign on the notice board saying that the pond and area around the pond was deemed as GUR as we are having work done on it, my question is was I right to play another ball from the tee or should I have dropped a ball at the nearest point of relief.
 
If it was GUR then its the nearest point of relief but no nearer the hole. Although i would guess that there was nothing stopping you playing from the tee again.
 
If it was GUR then its the nearest point of relief but no nearer the hole. Although i would guess that there was nothing stopping you playing from the tee again.

The relief from the GUR would be free of course but the replay from the tee (always available) costs a penalty stroke (in addition to the distance).
 
When we were in the clubhouse after waiting for the rest of the groups to come in a mate mentioned that there was a sign on the notice board saying that the pond and area around the pond was deemed as GUR as we are having work done on it, my question is was I right to play another ball from the tee or should I have dropped a ball at the nearest point of relief.

You certainly weren't wrong to do what you did, but it cost you a penalty shot. But you could have had a free drop at NPoR.

Always worth having a quick read of notices, just in case something like this has been announced.

@Tongo. The definition of Nearest Point of Relief includes the requirement to be 'not nearer the hole'.
 
Last edited:
That's what he said?

Superfluously!

If it was GUR then its the nearest point of relief but no nearer the hole. Although i would guess that there was nothing stopping you playing from the tee again.

I'll repeat the gist of my post!

Definition of NPoR includes the requirement to be 'not nearer the hole', so the 'but no nearer the hole' is not required!

Got it? :whistle:
 
Superfluously!



I'll repeat the gist of my post!

Definition of NPoR includes the requirement to be 'not nearer the hole', so the 'but no nearer the hole' is not required!

Got it? :whistle:


In such cases as outlined in the OP i thought it better to attempt to leave no semblance of doubt regarding the issue. Saves a potential secondary question if someone doesnt know all the minutiae of a particular rule. I'd rather be given too much information that too little and then look a bit ignorant by having to ask for further clarification.
 
A little bit! Not sure how it could be described as 'ground' under repair, but there you go!

I was thinking some people might play out of the pond if has very low water level or something . im sure there's a valid reason in there somewhere ..

as i say just curious , doesn't seem right ya get away without a pen to me tho !
 
Yeap on the notice board it did say that the pond which had been emptied and cleared of all plants and surrounding area was gur having said that the pond was almost full of water.
 
Top