• We'd like to take this opportunity to wish you a Happy Holidays and a very Merry Christmas from all at Golf Monthly. Thank you for sharing your 2025 with us!

Using Opponent's Club by Mistake

mikejohnchapman

Challenge Tour Pro
Joined
Oct 5, 2011
Messages
2,062
Location
Dorset
Visit site
Didn't happen to me but I asked if it was a penalty as it happened to a friend.

He was playing in a singles match and happened to be using the same clubs as his opponent. Having had to wait to play to a par three the opponent pulled a club from his bag and hit a shot. When my friend went to play he found his club missing as the opponent had taken the club from the wrong bag. I was asked if this incurred a penalty.

My reaction was yes as he was using more than 14 clubs so loss of hole. I know you aren't allowed to share clubs (except in foresomes with a 14 limit) but I couldn't see anything in the decisions to verify.

Any thoughts.
 
Yes; a penalty of loss of hole. He was in breach of the second bit of rule 4-4a which says you can't borrow a club selected for play by any other person playing on the course. In the decisions, Decision 4-4a/5 covers it (although it does cover a bit more also). And although the decision describes a strokeplay situation, it is equally applicable to matchplay - only the penalty is different.
 
As it was a match, the penalty for breach of Rule 4-4 will be as follows;

Match play – At the conclusion of the hole at which the breach is discovered, the state of the match is adjusted by deducting one hole for each hole at which a breach occurred; maximum deduction per round – Two holes.

As I understand it therefore the player doesn't simply lose the hole. It would seem they play out the hole and then adjust the match score afterwards. So if they are a/s and the first player (the borrower) wins the hole to go 1up the match is adjusted back to a/s. Would be good to have that confirmed.

In addition, under the notes to Rule 2-5 the player whose club was borrowed my overlook the breach as long as they don't agree to this between them.

2-5 Doubt as to Procedure; Disputes and Claims

Note 1: A player may disregard a breach of the Rules by his opponent provided there is no agreement by the sides to waive a Rule (Rule 1-3).
 
Did this happen yesterday Mike? If so, can we claim the match?? :D
 
As I understand it therefore the player doesn't simply lose the hole. It would seem they play out the hole and then adjust the match score afterwards. So if they are a/s and the first player (the borrower) wins the hole to go 1up the match is adjusted back to a/s. Would be good to have that confirmed.

That is correct.
 
As it was a match, the penalty for breach of Rule 4-4 will be as follows;

Match play – At the conclusion of the hole at which the breach is discovered, the state of the match is adjusted by deducting one hole for each hole at which a breach occurred; maximum deduction per round – Two holes.

As I understand it therefore the player doesn't simply lose the hole. It would seem they play out the hole and then adjust the match score afterwards. So if they are a/s and the first player (the borrower) wins the hole to go 1up the match is adjusted back to a/s. Would be good to have that confirmed.

In addition, under the notes to Rule 2-5 the player whose club was borrowed my overlook the breach as long as they don't agree to this between them.

2-5 Doubt as to Procedure; Disputes and Claims

Note 1: A player may disregard a breach of the Rules by his opponent provided there is no agreement by the sides to waive a Rule (Rule 1-3).

So just to be clear - they start all square. if the second player wins the hole anyway and the score is than adjusted is he then 2 up?
 
Top