Unplayable ball rule 28

Shaunmg

Head Pro
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
392
Location
St.Helens
Visit site
I recently duffed a tee shot just 30 yards into a bush. It was clearly seen by all enter the bush.

Without leaving the tee, I declared it unplayable. Placed another ball on the tee and played it with one shot penalty i.e 3 off the tee.

On discussing it in the clubhouse there was differing opinions. It was said I should have left the tee to look for the ball before declaring it unplayable, although it clearly went into the bush, I couldn't see the actual ball from where I was standing at the tee. It was also said I should have retrieved the ball and played that ball and not use another.

I disputed that point as rule 28 says "a ball" not "the ball"

So there are 2 points of issue, declaring lost ball without leaving tee, and using another ball. My action was purely in the interest of avoiding slow play with no advantage to me. So what if anything, did I do wrong and what rule was contravened
 
Last edited:
You can play a second ball whenever you like, if you don't declare it as a provisional it then becomes the ball in play. That for me is your only issue here, you cannot declare a ball unplayable and hit a second ball what you need to do is retrieve the ball.
 
I think you should have called a 'provisional ball' and played that for 3 off the tee. If your original was not found or deemed unplayable carry on with your provisional.

edit - someone already replied with basically the same answer
 
Last edited:
You can play a second ball whenever you like, if you don't declare it as a provisional it then becomes the ball in play. That for me is your only issue here, you cannot declare a ball unplayable and hit a second ball what you need to do is retrieve the ball.

You were fine, no need to retrieve the ball first.
 
I think you should have called a 'provisional ball' and played that for 3 off the tee. If your original was not found or deemed unplayable carry on with your provisional.

edit - someone already replied with my basically the same answer

You cannot continue with a provisional if you find the ball regardless if playable or not.
 
I think you should have called a 'provisional ball' and played that for 3 off the tee. If your original was not found or deemed unplayable carry on with your provisional.

edit - someone already replied with my basically the same answer

Not quite correct. If you play a provisional and find the original ball then it remains the ball in play. If you consider it unplayable you have a few options, including going back and playing from the previous spot (under penalty), but continuing with the provisional is not one of them.
 
I think you should have called a 'provisional ball' and played that for 3 off the tee. If your original was not found or deemed unplayable carry on with your provisional.

edit - someone already replied with my basically the same answer

I think that if you find the original ball but then deem it unplayable, you must abandon the provisional ball and carry on under rule 28a and then take penalty under stroke and distance.
 
Not quite correct. If you play a provisional and find the original ball then it remains the ball in play. If you consider it unplayable you have a few options, including going back and playing from the previous spot (under penalty), but continuing with the provisional is not one of them.

Damnation, beaten to it - knew I should have read all the posts!
 
Not quite correct. If you play a provisional and find the original ball then it remains the ball in play. If you consider it unplayable you have a few options, including going back and playing from the previous spot (under penalty), but continuing with the provisional is not one of them.

Ah. I'm still learning...
 
I recently duffed a tee shot just 30 yards into a bush. It was clearly seen by all enter the bush.

Without leaving the tee, I declared it unplayable. Placed another ball on the tee and played it with one shot penalty i.e 3 off the tee.

On discussing it in the clubhouse there was differing opinions. It was said I should have left the tee to look for the ball before declaring it unplayable, although it clearly went into the bush, I couldn't see the actual ball from where I was standing at the tee. It was also said I should have retrieved the ball and played that ball and not use another.

I disputed that point as rule 28 says "a ball" not "the ball"

So there are 2 points of issue, declaring lost ball without leaving tee, and using another ball. My action was purely in the interest of avoiding slow play with no advantage to me. So what if anything, did I do wrong and what rule was contravened

the issues with thread are the title - rule 28, and the 2 points of issue you then go on to outline!

rule 28 covers unplayable and rule 27 covers lost ball

rule 27 starts off "At any time, a player may, under penalty of one stroke, play a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was last played (see Rule 20-5), i.e., proceed under penalty of stroke and distance.

Except as otherwise provided in the Rules, if a player makes a stroke at a ball from the spot at which the original ball was last played, he is deemed to have proceeded under penalty of stroke and distance. "

and therefore answers both points you raise as well as the point that you would have been considered under the rules to have been playing under rule 27 when you played another ball even if you had stated 'I'm calling that unplayable' :)

separately, 28 co-exists with 27 and starts off "The player may deem his ball unplayable at any place on the course, except when the ball is in a water hazard. The player is the sole judge as to whether his ball is unplayable.

If the player deems his ball to be unplayable, he must, under penalty of one stroke:

a. Proceed under the stroke and distance provision of Rule 27-1 by playing a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was last played (see Rule 20-5);..."

so you were entitled to proceed under rule 28, with another ball, without even seeing it/finding it - and by playing another ball from the tee!

if you had stated that you were playing a provisional ball then the provisions of that rule (27-2) come into play - but there's no requirement to actually look for the other ball if you decide not to - only to play it if it is found (before it's lost!)
 
Absolutely no need to find the ball to declare it unplayable. Here's an extract from the Rule....
<quote>
The player may deem his ball unplayable at any place on the course, except when the ball is in a water hazard. The player is the sole judge as to whether his ball is unplayable.

If the player deems his ball to be unplayable, he must, under penalty of one stroke:

a. Proceed under the stroke and distance provision of Rule 27-1 by playing a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was last played (see Rule 20-5); or.......
</quote>

So declaring it unplayable without seeing it was perfectly Ok.

However, there was no need to even do that. Simply putting another ball into play - without stating that it is a 'Provisional Ball' achieves the same thing - under Rule 27-1.....

<quote>
27-1. Stroke And Distance; Ball Out Of Bounds; Ball Not Found Within Five Minutes
a. Proceeding Under Stroke and Distance
At any time, a player may, under penalty of one stroke, play a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was last played (see Rule 20-5), i.e., proceed under penalty of stroke and distance.

Except as otherwise provided in the Rules, if a player makes a stroke at a ball from the spot at which the original ball was last played, he is deemed to have proceeded under penalty of stroke and distance.....
</quote>


Beaten by Duncan :rolleyes:

But something not otherwise covered (but the 20-5 does)...Because you are playing from the Tee, you can play from anywhere in the 'teeing ground' and may (or need not) be tee-ed. If tee-ed, it can be at a different height to before - something there is occasional mythical confusion about.
 
Last edited:
So if my ball is in a thorn bush you expect me to go in and get it?
You dont have to but if you dont identify it then your only option is stroke and distance (lost ball). If you identify it then you can use one of the other options under the 'unplayable' rule.
 
You dont have to but if you dont identify it then your only option is stroke and distance (lost ball). If you identify it then you can use one of the other options under the 'unplayable' rule.

As with other instances of this...No. Rule 28 covers it, by specifically pointing to 27-1 (Sroke and Distance). So not 'only option', but the effect is the same - though there are indeed other possible actions under R28.
 
Last edited:
Absolutely no need to find the ball to declare it unplayable. Here's an extract from the Rule....
<quote>
The player may deem his ball unplayable at any place on the course, except when the ball is in a water hazard. The player is the sole judge as to whether his ball is unplayable.

If the player deems his ball to be unplayable, he must, under penalty of one stroke:

a. Proceed under the stroke and distance provision of Rule 27-1 by playing a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was last played (see Rule 20-5); or.......
</quote>

So declaring it unplayable without seeing it was perfectly Ok.

However, there was no need to even do that. Simply putting another ball into play - without stating that it is a 'Provisional Ball' achieves the same thing - under Rule 27-1.....

<quote>
27-1. Stroke And Distance; Ball Out Of Bounds; Ball Not Found Within Five Minutes
a. Proceeding Under Stroke and Distance
At any time, a player may, under penalty of one stroke, play a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was last played (see Rule 20-5), i.e., proceed under penalty of stroke and distance.

Except as otherwise provided in the Rules, if a player makes a stroke at a ball from the spot at which the original ball was last played, he is deemed to have proceeded under penalty of stroke and distance.....
</quote>


Beaten by Duncan :rolleyes:

But something not otherwise covered (but the 20-5 does)...Because you are playing from the Tee, you can play from anywhere in the 'teeing ground' and may (or need not) be tee-ed. If tee-ed, it can be at a different height to before - something there is occasional mythical confusion about.

Where does it say in the rule you don't have to find it? Not finding it is not declaring it unplayable.
 
Top