Touching Sand in Bunker

So, our player whilst climbing into a deep pot bunker uses his club as a walking stick to steady himself as he is about he fall deeper into the bunker.

What happens there ?

If he uses a club to stop himself from falling over and touches the sand, no penalty

I remember when Michelle Wie lost here balance and used her club to stop her falling over she was penalised
 
Playing in a 4BBB Comp today. The rake was in the bunker and prior to playing his shot, which was in the sand the guy picked up the rake his sand wedge touching the sand.

2 shot penalty I thought but did not call it.

Clarification please that I was correct.
ive never touched sand in bunker but have touched cloth on the first tee :D
 
Think the rules here are meant to stop a person from swinging/striking through the sand deliberately to test its condition. I Remember an occasion when Rory Mcllroy was nearly called on this but was not penalised after because he wasn't deemed to be testing the sand. Common sense and your judgement have to prevail.
 
no mate, she just put her club down in disbelief at the poor quality of the shot as she landed back in the hazard.

I dont think it has to do with swinging in the sand, it is about testing the sand not swinging in it.
Rory was not called on it as he said he was smoothing the sand after having played a shot from the bunker, which i beleive is allowed, before he played again from the same bunker.
 
Why not just pick the rake up without club in hand, thereby alleviating any chance of a penalty :D

Simples eh?

Golfmmad.
 
no mate, she just put her club down in disbelief at the poor quality of the shot as she landed back in the hazard.

I dont think it has to do with swinging in the sand, it is about testing the sand not swinging in it.
Rory was not called on it as he said he was smoothing the sand after having played a shot from the bunker, which i beleive is allowed, before he played again from the same bunker.

Thanks for the explanation ;)
 
2 shot penalty I thought but did not call it.

Good for you.

If I was in a game and someone hoiked up the rake with their sand wedge (is this what you mean?) and inadvertently touched the sand I'd immediately erase any memory of it from my mind.

"what the eyes don't see, the heart doesn't grieve over"....
 
No penalty...Rule 13-4 exception 1

1. Provided nothing is done that constitutes testing the condition of the hazard or improves the lie of the ball, there is no penalty if the player (a) touches the ground or loose impediments in any hazard or water in a water hazard as a result of or to prevent falling, in removing an obstruction, in measuring or in marking the position of, retrieving, lifting, placing or replacing a ball under any Rule or
(b) places his clubs in a hazard.
 
I know a guy who was standing in a bunker waiting to play a shot when another player from another hole who had also played into the same banker asked him to throw his ball back to him because he was picking up. My pal's competitor in his match called a foul "testing the condition" that certainly did sour the atmosphere in the match!
 
In friendly play, I would have let it go but in a comp or with a wager on it, 2-stroke penalty.

Tend to think along the same lines. Although I guess it would depend on how much the wager was for.
£1, £1, £1 I think I'd let it go.
Tenner or more?
I'd call it
;)
 
The problem is that you are "calling" a very debatable point. You have to accuse the player of "testing " the conditions and if he maintains he wasn't how do you proceed?

The rules certainly say that you can touch the sand in certain circumstances - in fact, if you choose to, you can walk into the bunker with 4 different clubs and lay the 3 you choose not to play out with, in the bunker.You would clearly touch the sand with all 3 clubs so how is that not "testing" but lifting the rake with a club and touching the sand is "testing".

Frankly, if I took a handfull of sand and had it biologically tested and the results texted to me - testing it, wouldn't help me one jot as every bunker I go in has enough sand in it to build a small bungalow, where I wiggle my feet in and my ball seem to have been sitting, precariously balanced, on the only grain of sand that I am not standing on!!

If you called me for lifting the rake I would never accept that I was testing the sand and you could stick it where the sun dont shine!
 
What's the ruling if to speed up play a player who's ball is in the bunker picks up the rake inside the bunker on his way to play his shot (club in his other hand) then lays/throws it down to the side of his ball before playing his shot to save time in having to go back and pick up the rake?
 
What's the ruling if to speed up play a player who's ball is in the bunker picks up the rake inside the bunker on his way to play his shot (club in his other hand) then lays/throws it down to the side of his ball before playing his shot to save time in having to go back and pick up the rake?

No penalty
 
wouldn't I'd have called it as I tend to do this myself but now I hope I'd say something like 'careful that could be considered testing . . .'.
memo to self, pick the rake up by hand in future (I won't of course).

but it's another sloppy rule. testing is establishing a condition or comparing against a known standard.
where is this standard defined?
simply walking on the sand tells you whether it's firm or not, digging your feet in tells you the depth, quality (eg how many stones you're likely to encounter), whether it's dry on top but wet beneath, etc.
how much extra information is an inanimate, misshapen lump of metal going to give you?
 
The problem is that you are "calling" a very debatable point. You have to accuse the player of "testing " the conditions and if he maintains he wasn't how do you proceed?

Never thought my query would ensured so much debate.

I di NOT call the penalty; however he DID place his club in the bunker as it would have been physically impossible to pick the rake out without touching the sand. He could not have denied what happened. However I accept your comments.
 
Report him to the club, fine hime, call the penalty and bitch about him all rounfd the club after. HOW DARE HE!!!
 
Top