Touching ground in a hazard

Region3

Ryder Cup Winner
Joined
Aug 4, 2009
Messages
11,860
Location
Leicester
Visit site
I fell foul of this today and just wanted to check I didn't do myself out of a stroke.

Ball in a water hazard with no water in it. The front and back edge of the hazard were vertical and my ball was only a foot or so from the back edge.

I just clipped the top edge of the bank on my backswing.

I assumed this constitutes touching the ground in a hazard, and does it make any difference whether I continued with the stroke or not?

Thanks.
 
Alot of people get confused with touching the surface and grounding the club. Two different things. A pp tried to pick me up once as i was playing off the bank of a water hazzard and my club was touching the long grass. The club was not grounded
 
Correct all round (no difference)

2 shots under 13-4 (you did add 2 didn't you?)

I guessed at it being 1 shot penalty, but it didn't make any difference as my putt for what I thought was 1 point was nowhere near.

Wish I'd known, would have saved myself the pain of missing a 5 footer by 6 inches! :o
 
Alot of people get confused with touching the surface and grounding the club. Two different things. A pp tried to pick me up once as i was playing off the bank of a water hazzard and my club was touching the long grass. The club was not grounded

Unfortunately this was enough of a thump to make me abandon my swing.
 
Alot of people get confused with touching the surface and grounding the club. Two different things. A pp tried to pick me up once as i was playing off the bank of a water hazzard and my club was touching the long grass. The club was not grounded

13-4 the player must not:
b. Touch the ground in the hazard or water in the water hazard with his hand or a club;

The rule makes no mention of grounding the club.

Touching the ground and grounding are not the same thing.

 
13-4 the player must not:
b. Touch the ground in the hazard or water in the water hazard with his hand or a club;

The rule makes no mention of grounding the club.

Touching the ground and grounding are not the same thing.


However, there are a number of decisions that do mention grounding the club (13-4/8,13-4/28,13-4/29,13-4/30).
 
The point I was making was that although touching includes grounding, they are not the same. The breach is for touching the ground.
 
Top