The right hand grip

ellissmith

Medal Winner
Visit site
Hi, I have been playing about 4 or 5 times a year for about 15 years and never really improved much. Now I have joined my local club and when the pro gave me an introductory lesson, he told me my right hand grip needed to change (my thumb was positioned on top of the grip). He got me to move it more to the left to allow me to get more wrist cock at the top of the swing. I have tried practising this for 4 or 5 hours on the practice area and in 2 rounds but have been more inconsistent than before with the irons off the fairway but have been hitting the driver a little straighter. I seem to be topping or hitting fat the iron shots. Another experienced member who saw me mishitting the ball told me I should go back to what I'm comfortable with but I'm thinking that with more practise I may master the new ("correct") grip and get more power. What would you recommend?

kid2

Money List Winner
Visit site
Hi, I have been playing about 4 or 5 times a year for about 15 years and never really improved much. Now I have joined my local club and when the pro gave me an introductory lesson, he told me my right hand grip needed to change (my thumb was positioned on top of the grip). He got me to move it more to the left to allow me to get more wrist cock at the top of the swing. I have tried practising this for 4 or 5 hours on the practice area and in 2 rounds but have been more inconsistent than before with the irons off the fairway but have been hitting the driver a little straighter. I seem to be topping or hitting fat the iron shots. Another experienced member who saw me mishitting the ball told me I should go back to what I'm comfortable with but I'm thinking that with more practise I may master the new ("correct") grip and get more power. What would you recommend?