The Range

Nick_Toye

Challenge Tour Pro
Visit site
As many would know by my recent posts I'm fairly new to the golf game, well new in that I am now taking it seriously. Very seriously.

Hit the range 3 times this week, trying to get used to my new clubs.

I generally take 100 balls, start with my wedges and work up to the driver. I have a kind of process that I go through, 5 balls each for my 2 wedges, then going from 9I up to 5I I hit 5 off the tee, and then 5 off the mat, and then I hit the rest with my driver.

All my clubs apart from my driver I am happy with my swing and connection. Direction is good and I'm getting good distances.

My driver though I am still trying to get my swing right. For some reason it feels different then my other clubs.

Many of my shots are being hooked, and I know this is because I feel the club twisting in my hand once I've played the shot.

I also notice that my finishing position with my feet and body is still pretty square to the tee. So for the last 10 I made a conscious effort to fully pivot my feet to point towards the target, and I felt I was getting a more fulfilled strike on the ball.

Any thoughts? Am I on the right track? What is the general distances I should be aiming for in the range, I know the balls are not going to go as far as on the course.

Nick_Toye

Challenge Tour Pro
Visit site
Boring answer alert.

Have you considered getting a lesson?

Yes, the range I go to is £15 for half an hour, and I'm going to book one for next week. I expect I will learn a hell of a lot in that half an hour, and I'm fairly autonomous. I watch and read a lot, I take it all in. I'm not going to make the mistake of thinking I know it all, I've played with my fair share of rich kids with posh clubs who are all talk, but I know with any sport, practice is key.

I think I'm at the stage now where I can strike a decent ball, I understand the mechanics to an extent, and now ready for some lessons.

pbrown7582

Money List Winner
Visit site