Taking relief

balaclava

Assistant Pro
Joined
Aug 9, 2008
Messages
314
Location
North West
Visit site
The ball is in a hole (burrowing animal). I get a free drop. I must drop at the nearest point of relief.

1. How do I define 'nearest point of relief'?
2. Does the drop need to be within 2 club lengths of the hole?
3. Do I need to used a club to identify the 2 club lengths e.g. if the drop is obviously within 2 club lengths.
 
1. Look up the definition on the R&A or the USGA website. They have excellent diagrams to explain it.
2. Within 1 club length of the nearest point of relief (it can roll a further two club lengths)
3. No there's no requirement but it helps to confirm where that point is and avoids confusion or suspicion.
 
Here is diagram to help

Nearest%20Point%20of%20Relief.ashx


Note the "Nearest point of Relief" as defined in the Rules is exactly that

"The "nearest point of relief" is the reference point for taking relief without penalty from interference by an immovable obstruction (Rule 24-2), an abnormal ground condition (Rule 25-1) or a wrong putting green (Rule 25-3).
It is the point on the course nearest to where the ball lies:
(i) that is not nearer the hole, and
(ii) where, if the ball were so positioned, no interference by the condition from which relief is sought would exist for the stroke the player would have made from the original position if the condition were not there.
Note: In order to determine the nearest point of relief accurately, the player should use the club with which he would have made his next stroke if the condition were not there to simulate the address position, direction of play and swing for such a stroke."​

After you have determined the NPR with the club you would have used to play the shot you can then use any club to measure the 1 club length dropping zone. After you have dropped the ball you can then play any shot you like with any club.
 
....and don't forget to interpret the rules literally. The NPR ( e.g.P2 in the diagram) might be right behind a tree or even in the middle of a bush.
 
Taking this question to the extreme - say the ball has ended up in a round burrowing animal hole only a little larger than the ball. The nearest point of relief could be anywhere around the edge of the burrowing animal hole - not nearer the hole - as the hole will no longer affect the stroke. Player has complete freedom to choose - correct?
 
Taking this question to the extreme - say the ball has ended up in a round burrowing animal hole only a little larger than the ball. The nearest point of relief could be anywhere around the edge of the burrowing animal hole - not nearer the hole - as the hole will no longer affect the stroke. Player has complete freedom to choose - correct?

Ah ! Alice in wonderland. :whistle:
 
Taking this question to the extreme - say the ball has ended up in a round burrowing animal hole only a little larger than the ball. The nearest point of relief could be anywhere around the edge of the burrowing animal hole - not nearer the hole - as the hole will no longer affect the stroke. Player has complete freedom to choose - correct?

I would say yes, based on decision 25-1b/16 - Ball Equidistant from Two Points Which Meet Requirements of Ground Under Repair Rule, which says

"Q. Through the green, the player's ball lies in ground under repair and he opts for relief under Rule 25-1b(i). There is no single nearest point of relief. Rather, there are two such points equidistant from the spot where the ball lies. May the player drop within one club-length of either point?

A. Yes"
 
If I were being really fussy I would say there could not be a multitude of possible NPRs around the semicircle of the hole. As illustrated, the point to the right or left of the hole would have to be far enough away to keep the clubhead clear of the condition, whereas the point directly behind the hole would only have to be the diameter of the ball away. The latter would be nearest the animal hole and, I reckon, the only possible NPR.

But that's only if were being really fussy. :whistle:

NPR at round hole.jpg
 
If I were being really fussy I would say there could not be a multitude of possible NPRs around the semicircle of the hole. As illustrated, the point to the right or left of the hole would have to be far enough away to keep the clubhead clear of the condition, whereas the point directly behind the hole would only have to be the diameter of the ball away. The latter would be nearest the animal hole and, I reckon, the only possible NPR.

But that's only if were being really fussy. :whistle:

View attachment 15227

Indeed you are quite correct in your fussiness :)

Though perhaps the NPR is actually one ball radius (0.84"), rather than one ball diameter, 'behind' the hole as you have shown in your lower illustration.
 
It's also worth pointing out that if the hole did not exist and it would be impossible to play the ball no relief is allowed if it's in a hole, as defined.

Whilst I suspect you are trying to bring the exception to 25-1b to people's attention I am afraid your explanation of balls in holes that don't exist is a little confusing! As an aside impossible doesn't come into it either...

Exception:*A player may not take relief under this Rule if (a) interference by anything other than an*abnormal ground conditionmakes the*stroke*clearly impracticable or (b) interference by an*abnormal ground conditionwould occur only through use of a clearly unreasonable stroke or an unnecessarily abnormal*stance, swing or direction of play.
 
Indeed you are quite correct in your fussiness :)

Though perhaps the NPR is actually one ball radius (0.84"), rather than one ball diameter, 'behind' the hole as you have shown in your lower illustration.

You are, in your even fussier fussiness, absolutely correct to correct. :thup:
 
Last edited:
Top