Taking clubs into a hazard.

Franco

Assistant Pro
Joined
Oct 17, 2013
Messages
181
Location
Rutland
Visit site
I know that with certain qualifications, there is no penalty if a player 'places his clubs in a hazard' (rule 13.4). Indeed the illustrated rules show a bag lying in a bunker. A debate arose today when a player took his trolley into a red staked, lateral water hazard to find his ball. This large natural bowl to the left of a par 5 fairway is bone dry for most of the year and similar to the rough elsewhere on the course. He stopped moving his trolley when he found his ball. Is there a penalty?
 
Top