Swing Plane Aid

NathanZ4C

Visit site
Im 31 years old have took golf back up again after around 15 years. As a junior I got down to around 20 if I remember correctly.

Ive been playing again for the last 4-5 months and whilst I am improving I feel like at times im completely losing my way with my back swing. As quick as I think im on plane and have resolved it, I lose the ability to know where on earth the club should be going.

Ive had a couple of lessons and was given some tips because I was swing too flat and I was coming too far back around my body on the take away however this caused me to sway on my back swing rather than turn from the waist.

I played 9 holes last weekend and shot 3 over. Cracked it or so I thought! Yesterday I went to the range and couldn’t hit a 7 iron to save my life. 95% of shot I was shanking violently to the right. Driver was straightish and my pitch/clip shots weren’t bad.

Im 99% sure its to do with my swing plane as I felt like id completely lost my way going back and I know that im probably thinking about this all too much.

Can anyone recommend a training aid that I can use to get me to feel where I should be going? Something I can practise with at home so it allows me to think about something else when im down the range.

Ive got a game tomorrow. So im hoping that I can get back into the grove.

Foxholer

Blackballed
Visit site
Check with the Pro (presumably) that gave you the lessons!

Seems like quite a bit going on and he's in miles the best position to suggest a drill or 2 to help that won't cause problems elsewhere!

Well done on the solid 9 holes. However, the subsequent collapse is typical of the sort of thing that happens with Golf!

Too much thinking about swing mechanics is almost certain to cause problems. Better to 'set it, then forget it' imo!

the_coach

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
reading between the lines with you saying swing going back little ways 'flat' & the swing plane being a ways troublesome.