Skipping GI Irons?

BigBertie84

Visit site
I'm new to golf and can barely hit straight off the tee at a driving range never mind a course however I have a quick question which has been nagging me.

Is using game improvement irons not counter productive? I know they are more forgiving and I know they help you hit farther but does that not also mean you are relying on aids to correct your mistakes rather than learn from your mistakes and get better?

I'm wondering would it be better to go for lower handicap irons straight from the get go and learn from my mistakes on those to get better with the end game clubs?

Obviously this is all a long way off for me at present as I'm still only learning and I do plan to ask my coach as well but I'd be interested in people's opinions and experiences. Did anyone else skip the GI irons?

DCB

Visit site
Take as much help as you can from the equipment. Have a look at what many Tour players are using, it's not far off a GI club in many cases. To play well with a more classic looking blade you really need to be hitting the ball out of the sweet spot and with consistency. A GI iron will give a bit more assistance on off centre hits and will still travel a reasonable distance. An off centre hit on a blade will not go anywhere near as far.

Don't make life hard for yourself, choose something that you like the looks of and that gives you as much help as it can. The game is hard enough without adding to the stress with the wrong clubs. Ask your Pro what he thinks you should be looking at as he will know what you need based on your swing and ball striking.

Welcome along to the forum, hang around and get involved and you may pick up useful info along the way :)

Pin-seeker

Visit site
Golf is a hard game,why make it harder when starting out?
Personally I wouldn't be looking at "better player" irons for a while.
This game isn't much fun if you can't hit the ball in intended direction.

Pin-seeker

Visit site