Should the ball go back on the tee ?

Carry a rule book with you; then you can show them rule 27-1a, which applies in this case. :)

The reason BrisoH71 would refer to 20-5, Del, is that 27-1a does not actually say that you can tee your ball up. 27-1a tells us what we can do; 20-5 tells us how to do it.
 
The reason BrisoH71 would refer to 20-5, Del, is that 27-1a does not actually say that you can tee your ball up. 27-1a tells us what we can do; 20-5 tells us how to do it.

And this is exactly why I wondered how many people would actually know the rule - present company excepted, obviously.
 
And this is exactly why I wondered how many people would actually know the rule - present company excepted, obviously.

I think most golfers know that you can re-tee the ball up for '3 off the tee' or a provisional ball from the teeing ground, even if they don't know the exact rules. At least that has been my experience.
 
No need to declare unplayable.

Surely you can't just pick your ball up and re-tee it. I know 20-5 says you can elect to play the ball from previous place, and obviously it is going to be under penalty...but shouldn't there be an underlying reason for it?
I guess I'll answer my own question and say, because the rule book doesn't say you have to have a reason...?!
 
Surely you can't just pick your ball up and re-tee it. I know 20-5 says you can elect to play the ball from previous place, and obviously it is going to be under penalty...but shouldn't there be an underlying reason for it?
I guess I'll answer my own question and say, because the rule book doesn't say you have to have a reason...?!

The wording of the rule gives the player free rein.

The player may deem his ball unplayable at any place on the course, except when the ball is in a water hazard. The player is the sole judge as to whether his ball is unplayable.
 
The player will no doubt have an underlying reason for playing under stroke and distance, but the Rules take no interest in what that reason is. In addition to the freedom to deem your ball unplayable anywhere, anytime, Rule 27-1 permits you to play from where you played your previous shot (stroke and distance) without giving a reason.
 
Last edited:
Surely you can't just pick your ball up and re-tee it. I know 20-5 says you can elect to play the ball from previous place, and obviously it is going to be under penalty...but shouldn't there be an underlying reason for it?
I guess I'll answer my own question and say, because the rule book doesn't say you have to have a reason...?!
Unless there is a local rule to the contrary, you can only tee the ball up within the teeing ground and for your first shot with the original, second, or provisional ball. If you elect to take a stroke and distance penalty you return the ball (or a substitute ball) to its previous position, which includes being teed up on the teeing ground.
 
Last edited:
Unless there is a local rule to the contrary, you can only tee the ball up within the teeing ground and for your first shot with the original, second, or provisional ball. If you elect to take a stroke and distance penalty you return the ball (or a substitute ball) to its previous position, which includes being teed up on the teeing ground.

Regardless of how it was originally placed (on a tee or on the ground), the player may choose to play off a tee or off the ground this time. This may be anywhere within the teeing ground.

20-5 When a player elects or is required to make his next stroke from where a previous stroke was made, he must proceed as follows:
(a) On the Teeing Ground: The ball to be played must be played from within the teeing ground. It may be played from anywhere within the teeing ground and may be teed.


Incidentally, which Local Rule permits you to tee up a ball?
 
Last edited:
Regardless of how it was originally placed (on a tee or on the ground), the player may choose to play off a tee or off the ground this time. This may be anywhere within the teeing ground.

20-5 When a player elects or is required to make his next stroke from where a previous stroke was made, he must proceed as follows:
(a) On the Teeing Ground: The ball to be played must be played from within the teeing ground. It may be played from anywhere within the teeing ground and may be teed.


Incidentally, which Local Rule permits you to tee up a ball?
Teeing the ball up in a teeing ground is always optional, in that you are not forced to do so, and some players don't at par-3's. However, if you are going to hit a driver, you might as well do so.

I have come across such a local rule at courses with new fairways, or fairways in very poor condition, in order to protect them. Although I was not a member at the time, I understand that my present club had such a rule for the first few months after it was first opened in the mid 1990's.
 
Last edited:
Interesting, but for your information, Del, allowing the ball to be teed up on fairways would not be a legitimate Local Rule and would make any competition non-qualifying. It would be better in my view to require fairway mats to be used, as these have legitimacy. That legitimacy might be confined to winter months meaning you’d need a dispensation from your local Association to use them at other times - that’s not definite and I don’t have my CONGU manual to hand to check, sorry.
 
I've never understood why anywhere would say you need to tee it up on a fairway for reasons of protection. I take a divot whether it's teed up or not...
 
I have come across such a local rule at courses with new fairways, or fairways in very poor condition, in order to protect them. Although I was not a member at the time, I understand that my present club had such a rule for the first few months after it was first opened in the mid 1990's.

As Colin says, such a Local Rule is unauthorised. However, fairway mats are approved.
 
As Colin says, such a Local Rule is unauthorised. However, fairway mats are approved.
Apparently it took a while to get the grass growing on some of the fairways when our course was first opened. They may have removed the local rule for qualifiers. I will ask some of the founder members if they can remember what happened.
 
Surely it would be easier to just quote the rule rather than ask a rhetorical question?

You can quote the rule if you know it but I think if you know something that most people know - like you can tee up a provisional when playing one from the tee - that exemplifies the ruling - then that helps the other player(s) agree to and accept what you are doing.
 
The player will no doubt have an underlying reason for playing under stroke and distance, but the Rules take no interest in what that reason is. In addition to the freedom to deem your ball unplayable anywhere, anytime, Rule 27-1 permits you to play from where you played your previous shot (stroke and distance) without giving a reason.

Indeed - so plenty of scope for using S&D when you simply don't fancy the shot that you have left yourself with - nothing to do with it being 'unplayable' - I'm guessing since trying to define 'unplayable' would be a nightmare. The practicality or actuality of a ball being 'unplayable' in the eyes of a player in certain circumstances is however dealt with (e.g. in water hazard) but no definition of what it is for a ball to be 'unplayable' is provided.

That a Player is able to take S&D at ANY time is always a good thing to remember - though your PPs or opponent may feel you are not playing 'in the spirit of the game' - again whatever that is. But tough. You can.
 
Top