jimjoachim
Head Pro
Hi, I had a frustrating situation on saturday in our monthly medal.
I teed off on 13,which is a raised tee box, and missed my fairway but could see the ball land, roll and come to rest on the 12th fairway.
To get to the fairway we have to walk down through a quarry and back up the other side.
I got to where my ball should have been and it wasnt there!! Confused I look and see a ball sitting 20 yards away in the rough. Check it and it is the same make and number (Titleist 3) as mine but didnt have my marking on it. At this point i am virtually certain that my ball has been played by the group going up the 12th.
The group were already out of sight and to keep things moving my playing partners tell me I can drop one under rule 18.1 and play on??
A couple of holes we cross the group in question again. I go up to speak with them to let them know what i think has happened. One of the guys tells me he is playing a Titleist 3, we check "his" ball and sure enough it has my marking on it!! The guy was gutted as he was 5 better than his handicap at this stage. I went from feeling annoyed to guilty for not chasing them up the 12th fairway.....
So question is, what is the ruling for both of us??
Im pretty sure he is DQed as it is a stroke comp.
Was I okay to take that drop? From looking at the rule, how certain is "virtually certain"?
I went in and explained the situation to the pro after and he thinks we are both DQed, as i should have went back to the tee and played 3???
I wouldnt have ended with a winning card but it could be a matter of buffer or +0.1.
Thanks
J
I teed off on 13,which is a raised tee box, and missed my fairway but could see the ball land, roll and come to rest on the 12th fairway.
To get to the fairway we have to walk down through a quarry and back up the other side.
I got to where my ball should have been and it wasnt there!! Confused I look and see a ball sitting 20 yards away in the rough. Check it and it is the same make and number (Titleist 3) as mine but didnt have my marking on it. At this point i am virtually certain that my ball has been played by the group going up the 12th.
The group were already out of sight and to keep things moving my playing partners tell me I can drop one under rule 18.1 and play on??
A couple of holes we cross the group in question again. I go up to speak with them to let them know what i think has happened. One of the guys tells me he is playing a Titleist 3, we check "his" ball and sure enough it has my marking on it!! The guy was gutted as he was 5 better than his handicap at this stage. I went from feeling annoyed to guilty for not chasing them up the 12th fairway.....
So question is, what is the ruling for both of us??
Im pretty sure he is DQed as it is a stroke comp.
Was I okay to take that drop? From looking at the rule, how certain is "virtually certain"?
I went in and explained the situation to the pro after and he thinks we are both DQed, as i should have went back to the tee and played 3???
I wouldnt have ended with a winning card but it could be a matter of buffer or +0.1.
Thanks
J