Ruling please

fundy

Ryder Cup Winner
Joined
Aug 6, 2010
Messages
27,053
Location
Herts/Beds border
Visit site
Heard an interesting one from the medal comp at the weekend, would love to know the right outcome.

On our 12th, a par 5, player thins his third shot out of the back of the green, it appears to go into the hedge which marks the boundary of the course and there are clear OOB stakes.

He hits a provisional which he hits short of the green. He then chips that onto the green.

He then "finds" the first ball which he hacks out from the base of the hedge which is clearly inbounds. He then chips that on the green. Goes to mark the ball only to realise that its not actually his ball.

Whats the ruling?
 
Heard an interesting one from the medal comp at the weekend, would love to know the right outcome.

On our 12th, a par 5, player thins his third shot out of the back of the green, it appears to go into the hedge which marks the boundary of the course and there are clear OOB stakes.

He hits a provisional which he hits short of the green. He then chips that onto the green.

He then "finds" the first ball which he hacks out from the base of the hedge which is clearly inbounds. He then chips that on the green. Goes to mark the ball only to realise that its not actually his ball.

Whats the ruling?

Wow thats a frustrating hole!

No idea on the proper answer, my guess would be:

2 shot penalty for playing the wrong ball is guaranteed. If he still can't find first ball, is playing his provisional, but with the two shot penalty included.
 
Off top of my head:

I'm guessing that when he chipped onto the green with his provisional it wasn't closer than the approx position of the ball in the hedge? If so then carry on with provisional and add 2 shot penalty for playing a wrong ball. I make that his next shot would be 9.

Even if it wasn't then he's not much better and possibly worse. His hack out of the hedge would be a wrong ball (2 shot penalty) and he would then have to correct the error and play correctly with the provisional. Next shot would again be 9 by my reckoning. If he's picked his provisional up I think he could replace without penalty but "Ball at rest moved by player" may come into it. I'm guessing there would be an exclusion in the circumstances but haven't had time to look it up.

Happy to be corrected......one thing for sure is it's a calamity all round :)
 
Last edited:
Heard an interesting one from the medal comp at the weekend, would love to know the right outcome.

On our 12th, a par 5, player thins his third shot out of the back of the green, it appears to go into the hedge which marks the boundary of the course and there are clear OOB stakes.

He hits a provisional which he hits short of the green. He then chips that onto the green.

He then "finds" the first ball which he hacks out from the base of the hedge which is clearly inbounds. He then chips that on the green. Walks onto the green and picks up his provisional.

Goes to mark the ball only to realise that its not actually his ball.

Whats the ruling?

Sorry edited that hed picked up the provisional too!
 
I'd think its 2 shot pen for playing wrong ball. Once he realised it was the wrong ball, go back and look for the original ,if not found then its stroke and distance and hope you don't thin it again.
so 3 to the hedge + 2 for wrong ball and plus 1 for lost ball and however many more he took.
 
OK , heres my take on this
Prov is 5th stroke
Chip is 6th stroke
Plays wrong ball 2 stroke pen (8)
Replaces the prov as close as possible to where he picked it up as it was the ball in play (other ball was not his ) with a 1 shot pen (9) for moving his ball in play

Putting for a 10 ??
 
the competitor incurred a stroke-and-distance penalty under Rule 27-1 as a result of losing his original ball, a two-stroke penalty under Rule 15-3b for playing a wrong ball and a one-stroke penalty under Rule 18-2a for picking up his provisional ball. He is required to replace and play out the provisional ball. The competitor would be playing his tenth stroke.
 
OK , heres my take on this
Prov is 5th stroke
Chip is 6th stroke
Plays wrong ball 2 stroke pen (8)
Replaces the prov as close as possible to where he picked it up as it was the ball in play (other ball was not his ) with a 1 shot pen (9) for moving his ball in play

Putting for a 10 ??

:thup: and you beat me to it
 
I was just trying to apply a bit of logic to a mad situation Duncan ,

I was hoping i was right , you sir on the other hand knew what you were applying to be correct ..

but it took me a few minutes to add up to 10 - having the right logic and ruling but posting the wrong number accidentally would get me jumped on here!
 
An ideal one for Barry Rhodes's 'How many strokes' set of emails!

And a more realistic situation than a few he does post.
 
the competitor incurred a stroke-and-distance penalty under Rule 27-1 as a result of losing his original ball, a two-stroke penalty under Rule 15-3b for playing a wrong ball and a one-stroke penalty under Rule 18-2a for picking up his provisional ball. He is required to replace and play out the provisional ball. The competitor would be playing his tenth stroke.

Suspected that may be the case. May seem a tad harsh, a double whammy if you like, but suppose it's all of his own making!
 
An ideal one for Barry Rhodes's 'How many strokes' set of emails!

And a more realistic situation than a few he does post.

not really - anyone can dig out the relevant decision (27-2b/9 is almost word for word with the situation outlined) which taken with 27-2b/8 and 27-2b/10 are very frequent occurrences in practice (and therefore ruling)
 
Top