rules query.. hitting an obstacle

bigfoot1985

Head Pro
Joined
Feb 24, 2011
Messages
347
Location
leicestershire
Visit site
played a match today and on one of the holes, about 20 yards in front of the tee there was a section that had been roped off using the metal poles.

My m8 tee`s off and his ball strikes the metal pole sending it out of bounds.

What is the ruling on this??
 
Can't see that a Local Rule could prevent this....
Regardless of what the ball hits, if it ends up OB then OB it is.....

A local rule could say "Any ball striking the metal poles in area blah blah must be replayed without penalty". Similar rules are usually in place for pylons and overhead cables but I agree it would be unusual for something like this unless the poles are really interfering with the play of the hole.
 
A local rule could say "Any ball striking the metal poles in area blah blah must be replayed without penalty". Similar rules are usually in place for pylons and overhead cables but I agree it would be unusual for something like this unless the poles are really interfering with the play of the hole.

Quite true - forgot about pylons etc.....
 
well they were definitely in the way and shouldnt have been there. Only there to protect the ground thats being repaired so you cant walk over it. Its right in the line off the tee
 
Motorway between Glasgow and Edinburgh? :confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:

No, it's a screw thread.

We have a few metal poles around the greens to stop people taking trolleys between the bunkers and the greens. If you hit one, it is rub of the green. If it interferes with your swing, you get relief. If it is in your line, tough, play round it or over it. They cannot be moved.
 
If it's ground level stuff that the OP M8 hit, was it a sclaffed shot along the ground ? Would a 'proper' golf shot have missed ;)
 
We have posts and ropes round some of our tees and we are allowed to move these if we end up on the tee and need to chip to a nearby green. As the definitions say, if you can move it, it's movable:

"An obstruction is a movable obstruction if it may be moved without unreasonable effort, without unduly delaying play and without causing damage. Otherwise it is an immovable obstruction.

Note: The Committee may make a Local Rule declaring a movable obstruction to be an immovable obstruction."


And if it's movable you can move it.:)

Gives rise to an interesting decision

24-2b/15 Opening Barn Doors to Play Shot Through Barn

"Q. May a player open the doors of a barn to enable him to play a shot through the barn?

A. Yes. A barn is an immovable obstruction, but the doors are movable and may be opened. See also Decision 24-2b/14."

Still a tricky shot though for those of us who struggle hit a barn door (open or closed) :confused:

I guess then murph that the poles at your place are (or your committee have declared them to be) immovable obstructions, from which there is no line of play relief (except on the green) - Rule 24-2(a).

Another one of those areas where checking the local rules is important as things may vary from club to club.
 
Unfortunate to hit one, but if they were 20 yards in front then the ball must have been poorly struck to not even be 3 foot off the floor at that point (as said above).

We have them all over our course at the moment, to stop people running trollies into the wet parts. Cant say I've seem any in front of the tees though.
 
Top