Rule 8.1 query

IanMcC

Visit site
I am a reasonably newly qualified referee and I had a ruling at the weekend which left me worrying if I did the right thing.
A young player found his ball in deep grass in the rough. He threw his glove down to identify the spot, but as he did so, he purposely flattened down the grass behind the ball with his foot.
As he went for his club, I recreated the lie by putting the grass back up. I then warned him that his action was not allowed, and in future to play the ball as it lies in such positions.
I didn't penalise him under 8.1, as the lie had been recreated. I discussed this with two more experienced referees at the event. One said I acted correctly, the other said I should have applied a General Penalty.
What do the experienced refs think of this on the forum? Should I have immediately applied the GP? Should I not have intervened, but applied the GP after he made a stroke? Should he have received the GP even if the lie was recreated? In not giving him a GP, but recreating the lie and giving the lad a small lecture, were my actions OK?

chrisd

Major Champion
Visit site
I'm not by any means a referee, but do take a keen interest in the rules of golf.

I'm absolutely sure that your only course of action should have been to draw the players attention to the rule he had broken, and advised him of the penalty. I don't see in a referee the fairness to all of the other players, whereby you let him off the penalty, and I also don't see how you exactly recreate the lie. But, good for you in becoming a referee!

Steven Rules

Visit site
At last! A rules question after so much recent discussion on this forum about handicaps.