Rory McIlroy hole 7 round 1

Madi1017

New member
Joined
Feb 3, 2024
Messages
1
Visit site
I am wondering why one of the rule officials for the PGA were not able to stop Rory McIlroy from making the mistake he did on Hole 7 at Pebble Beach during round one.

I just am wondering if there is an exact reason on why a rule official was not able to tell him about the rule change before he made the drop and not after.

Thanks!
 

rulefan

Tour Winner
Joined
Feb 21, 2013
Messages
14,805
Visit site
Presumably the referee saw him determining the line and assumed McIlroy knew the rule. He wouldn't expect McIlroy to drop it to the side and wasn't actually on the line when he dropped and played.
 

rulie

Head Pro
Joined
Sep 2, 2015
Messages
1,966
Visit site
There isn't a referee with every group. If the referee had seen Rory making a mistake, he would definitely have tried to stop him. Part of the referee ethos is to try and prevent Rule breaches.
 

rulefan

Tour Winner
Joined
Feb 21, 2013
Messages
14,805
Visit site
There isn't a referee with every group. If the referee had seen Rory making a mistake, he would definitely have tried to stop him. Part of the referee ethos is to try and prevent Rule breaches.
The little bit of video I managed to find didn't show a referee.
 
Top