Repairing pitch marks on the green?

I was playing a few days ago with a friend whose ball landed just short of green on par 3.
It had made a big pitch mark a couple of inches off the green, with a ski jump lip at front of mark, and her ball was sitting immediately in front of the mark.
I had a pitch repairer in my hand ready to repair my mark (which was on the green) and offered it to her to repair her mark.
She - quite rightly - corrected me and said that she wasn't allowed to repair her mark yet.

We all sympathised at the rotten lie she had, with a lump sitting up nearly an inch a fraction behind her ball.
She opted to putt it, and sank the awkward putt for birdie!

Cheers all round, then she repaired the pitch mark!
The Gods of Golf obviously rewarded her for being honest and knowing the rules! :thup:
 
I was playing a few days ago with a friend whose ball landed just short of green on par 3.
It had made a big pitch mark a couple of inches off the green, with a ski jump lip at front of mark, and her ball was sitting immediately in front of the mark.
I had a pitch repairer in my hand ready to repair my mark (which was on the green) and offered it to her to repair her mark.
She - quite rightly - corrected me and said that she wasn't allowed to repair her mark yet.

We all sympathised at the rotten lie she had, with a lump sitting up nearly an inch a fraction behind her ball.
She opted to putt it, and sank the awkward putt for birdie!

Cheers all round, then she repaired the pitch mark!

Interesting.

If in a situation like this the ball is on the fringe (i.e closely mown area) and if preferred lies are in operation, would it be Ok to lift clean and replace the ball slightly to the side, but not nearer the hole, to avoid interference from the pitch mark?
 
Provided you place within the limit specified in the LR it's no different from choosing your spot anywhere else to get maximum benefit
 
Out of curiosity, what made you wonder about it?

Well it started with me wondering why that isn't simply what the player in NM's post post did (it being well into November (i.e likelihood of winter rules) and the ball being just off the green and the player putting (i.e. likelihood that ball was on a closely mown area) but as no one mentioned it I wondered if perhaps there was something I was missing, even on the grounds that although it was was within the rules it was perhaps frowned on.
 
Well it started with me wondering why that isn't simply what the player in NM's post post did (it being well into November (i.e likelihood of winter rules) and the ball being just off the green and the player putting (i.e. likelihood that ball was on a closely mown area) but as no one mentioned it I wondered if perhaps there was something I was missing, even on the grounds that although it was was within the rules it was perhaps frowned on.

What I didn't mention is that we were playing in Portugal when this happened and as a "society" had decided that Winter Rules didn't apply on holiday!
Had this happened in soggy Hertsfordshire, she definitely would have moved her ball a couple of inches to the side.
 
What I didn't mention is that we were playing in Portugal when this happened and as a "society" had decided that Winter Rules didn't apply on holiday!
Had this happened in soggy Hertsfordshire, she definitely would have moved her ball a couple of inches to the side.

Ah-ha, mystery solved. :)

Thanks NM.
 
What I didn't mention is that we were playing in Portugal when this happened and as a "society" had decided that Winter Rules didn't apply on holiday!
Had this happened in soggy Hertsfordshire, she definitely would have moved her ball a couple of inches to the side.

And probably missed the putt :)
 
Top