Relief from an embedded ball near the green?


New member
Dec 13, 2022
Recently I had an embedded ball near the green, As one can take free relief within one club length no nearer the hole anywhere in 'the general area', I was able to drop my ball on the fringe. My playing partners said this gave me an unfair advantage; yes, but then as the fringe is not part of the green and classed as part of general area I was using the rules to my advantage. Was I correct or not? Forum please help on this grey area.