• We'd like to take this opportunity to wish you a Happy Holidays and a very Merry Christmas from all at Golf Monthly. Thank you for sharing your 2025 with us!

Red Stakes Hazard

Biggleswade Blue

Head Pro
Joined
Mar 6, 2013
Messages
756
Visit site
Hi

Just learning my way round things. I think this is a fairly basic rule.

Hole played yesterday has a ditch across the fairway diagonally marked with red stakes. I played my tee shot, it landed on the ridge just on the far side of the ditch (so cleared the ditch), then bounced back into the water.

I think my options are:

i) replay tee shot

ii) back as far as I like on a line between the flag and where the ball crossed the imaginary line between the red posts, drop, must be within two club lengths of the line

iii) drop within two club lengths of where it crossed the imaginary line between the posts, no nearer the hole

All at penalty of one stroke.

Is that right?

If I did not know where the ball went into the hazard, I think my only option is i). Is that right?
 
If you find the ball in the 'penalty area' (new rules terminology) but are not sure exactly where it crossed into it, you are allowed to use your best judgement to estimate where it crossed.

You also have a 4th option which is to play the ball as it lies with no penalty strokes. May not be sensible in the situation you describe but it sometimes is a reasonable play in a penalty area.
 
Hi

Just learning my way round things. I think this is a fairly basic rule.

Hole played yesterday has a ditch across the fairway diagonally marked with red stakes. I played my tee shot, it landed on the ridge just on the far side of the ditch (so cleared the ditch), then bounced back into the water.

I think my options are:

i) replay tee shot

ii) back as far as I like on a line between the flag and where the ball crossed the imaginary line between the red posts, drop, must be within two club lengths of the line

iii) drop within two club lengths of where it crossed the imaginary line between the posts, no nearer the hole

All at penalty of one stroke.

Is that right?

If I did not know where the ball went into the hazard, I think my only option is i). Is that right?

Correct, except ii) should read "within 1 club length of the line". And as IanG said you may play it as it lies.
 
You're mixing up the options there.
He's referring to dropping back in line with the pin as far as you want, where now you can drop within one club length of the line that goes back in line.
Apologies i am . He was answering the last part of option 2 in OP
I thought he was answering option 3 .

Apologies i misread reply
 
Top