• We'd like to take this opportunity to wish you a Happy Holidays and a very Merry Christmas from all at Golf Monthly. Thank you for sharing your 2025 with us!

Realising penalty after score card submission

kevster84

Head Pro
Joined
Jun 20, 2012
Messages
469
Visit site
I submitted my scorecard for Saturday's monthly stableford and have just realised I should have added a penalty stroke. The incident occurred on the 3rd hole just off the green where my practice swing caught the ball. I asked my playing partners whether this incurred a stroke penalty and they didn't think it did, I marked the card and said I would check (which I forgot to do!). I replaced the ball in the original position and played from there.

The results have not been confirmed however I was leading by 5 points. Does this mean I should DQ myself or is it possible to identify a penalty error at a later date?

Such a stupid thing to do....!
 
I thought hitting the ball with a practice swing (a la Zach Johnson at The Masters) incurred no penalty?
 
The only exception to the DQ penalty that I know of is if you did not know that that you had incurred a penalty and found out afterwards.

Exception – Failure to Include Unknown Penalty: If one or more of the player’s hole scores are lower than the actual scores because he or she excluded one or more penalty strokes that the player did not know about before returning the scorecard:

• The player is not disqualified.

• Instead, if the mistake is found before the close of the competition, the Committee will revise the player’s score for that hole or holes by adding the penalty stroke(s) that should have been included in the score for that hole or holes under the Rules.

This exception does not apply:

• When the excluded penalty is disqualification, or

• When the player was told that a penalty might apply or was uncertain whether a penalty applied and did not raise this with the Committee before returning the scorecard.
 
I thought hitting the ball with a practice swing (a la Zach Johnson at The Masters) incurred no penalty?

Nort knowing the Zach Johnson ruling was he on a putting green?


9.4 Ball Lifted or Moved by Player


This Rule applies only when it is known or virtually certain that a player (including the player’s caddie) lifted his or her ball at rest or caused it to move.


b. Penalty for Lifting or Deliberately Touching Ball or Causing It to Move


If the player lifts or deliberately touches his or her ball at rest or causes it to move, the player gets one penalty stroke.

But there are four exceptions:

Exception 3 – Accidental Movement on Putting Green: There is no penalty when the player accidentally causes the ball to move on the putting green (see Rule 13.1d), no matter how that happens.
 
Zach Johnson was on the tee so thinking about it the reason that wasn't a penalty was because he hadn't begun to play the hole(the same as if the ball had fallen off the tee (and someone had shouted "That's one!")).
 
I thought hitting the ball with a practice swing (a la Zach Johnson at The Masters) incurred no penalty?
Only when on the tee (as ball is not yet "in play") or - as part of 'new rules' - on the putting green. Elsewhere it's a 1 shot penalty and ball must be replaced. Further 1 shot penalty (making 2 in total for hole) if ball is/was not replaced.

Zach Johnson was on the tee so thinking about it the reason that wasn't a penalty was because he hadn't begun to play the hole(the same as if the ball had fallen off the tee (and someone had shouted "That's one!")).
Correct! I missed, so 'repeated' this.
 
Although I had misunderstood and thought it applied everywhere, fortunately I don't take many practise swings so haven't ended up disqualifying myself!
 
This would seem to apply here
I read that as the first 2 parts of the statement around the "or" have to be added to the "and" clause regarding raising it with the commitee. My understanding is this did not happen ("said I would check (which I forgot to do!) " in the OP) so the exception to the exception does not apply meaning the result is disqualification. I believe that this is becasue if the Committee were aware of it before returning the scorecard, they would have been able to apply the penalty correctly.
Dicslaimer - I seem to be rubbish at deciphering Golf rules :-( , I read the rules around some of the queries raised on this forum and even with them in front of me I still can easily get it wrong, granted we generally only get to see and discuss the more obscure things here. The above is just based on my logical brain thinking it can interpret the words!
 
You can't DQ yourself.
At the time you wrote the post a. You are now aware b. The comp wasn't closed.

1. Advise the committee now that you became aware of the penalty that you didn't include before they closed the competition, but are only now advising them.
2. Explain the incident.

Wait for their ruling in due course.
 
I notified the committee and they DQ'd me. Glad I slogged in the wind and rain for 4 1/2 hours for this outcome! We live and learn. My handicap was cut 2.4 shots however this was based on the incorrect score (albeit 1 shot), should this be corrected by 0.3?
 
I notified the committee and they DQ'd me. Glad I slogged in the wind and rain for 4 1/2 hours for this outcome! We live and learn. My handicap was cut 2.4 shots however this was based on the incorrect score (albeit 1 shot), should this be corrected by 0.3?

In my view you are correct the score should be adjusted for the penalty before applying handicap adjustments. You need to take it back to the committee for adjustment . Quote

94

APPENDIX P

DISQUALIFIED SCORES IN QUALIFYING COMPETITIONS


Clause 17.1(c) of the UHS provides that a Player Handicap Record must include Disqualified Scores which, when corrected, may be acceptable for handicap purposes.

The corrected score may be within the player’s Buffer Zone or qualify for a handicap reduction. Otherwise an increase in Exact Handicap of 0.1 shall be applied, unless the calculated CSS is CSS=SSS+3 R/O.

To accept a Disqualified Score as a ‘correct score’ the Committee must verify the score in such manner as it shall deem appropriate. All penalty strokes must be included in the score for handicap purposes.
 
I notified the committee and they DQ'd me. Glad I slogged in the wind and rain for 4 1/2 hours for this outcome! We live and learn. My handicap was cut 2.4 shots however this was based on the incorrect score (albeit 1 shot), should this be corrected by 0.3?
I believe, on the basis of what was posted, that they were correct in their decision - last bullet of post #3, referenced in post #8 - but as Jim has referenced they have incorrectly calculated the appropriate qualifying score.
There is frequently a disconnect between the comp side and the handicapping team on such matters at clubs; a gentle questioning of what was done should get it corrected.
Well done on the cut!
 
Top