Range mats

Morecambe hacker

Medal Winner
Visit site
As a beginner I've noticed when practicing on mats my shots are getting loads better and more consistent but when I try on the course it's a different ball game!
I can appreciate that mats are nice and level with no awkward lies so I know that makes things easier also I know in time with practice on the course I will adapt to each different situation but my question is should I practice more on grass say a playing field? Or stick to the range? The reason I ask is some mates say range mats are good and others say they don't give much feedback and should be given a wide birth!

Any views on this people?
Thanks in advance

chrisd

Major Champion
Visit site
Any practice, on mats or anything, generally has to be better than no practice. For me, the biggest problem with mats is that you can regularly hit fractionally behind the ball ie fat and the club will bounce into the ball and the result won't be too bad. If you do the same thing on the course you will get a heavy muddy hit that is likely to go nowhere, so you so need to assess the quality of strike at the range very carefully

Chris

Aztecs27

Money List Winner
Visit site
In my humble opinion, if you have access to practice on grass then definitely choose that over range mats.

The thing with range mats is that if you hit a shot slightly fat, it might end up ok, because you can't take a huge chunk of turf with you when you hit fat on mats. I practice at the range on mats out of necessity, not because I want to.

That's not to say mats shouldn't be used at all, but just be careful about what and how you practice on mats and you should be fine.

One Planer

Global Moderator
Visit site